Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • John Murray

The Glassblower of Murano

Marina Fiorato

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance, Historical fiction

New to Hodder, the bestselling first historical love story set in Venice from Marina Fiorato. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

1681. Glassblowing is the lifeblood of the Republic and Venetian mirrors are more precious than gold. Jealously guarded by the murderous Council of Ten, the glassblowers of Murano are virtually imprisoned on their island in the lagoon.

But the greatest artist of their number, Corradino Manin, sells his methods and his soul to the Sun King, Louise XIV of France, to protect his secret daughter.

Centuries later his descendant, Nora Manin, escapes an unhappy life in London, determined to apprentice as a glassblower in the city of her ancestors. Passionate and gifted, her famous family name places her in danger within the ancient foundries when timeles rivalries rise to the surface. As she finds new life and love in Venice, Nora's fate becomes inextricably linked with that of Corradino as the treacherous secrets of his life come to light.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Glassblower of Murano

  • 'A great read with a plot that moves seamlessly between seventeenth-century and modern-day Venice. If you've never been there, you'll be booking to go, if you have, you'll be going back! - Best

  • As mesmerising as the perfecet glass at its heart - Waterstones Books Quarterly

  • Recommended - Good Book Guide

  • A sizzling . . . read, and a must to pack in the suitcase - Italian Magazine

  • The enchanting tale of one woman, her past and the magical art of glassmaking is rich with passion, mystery and intrigue - Booktime

  • 'A great read with a plot that moves seamlessly between seventeenth-century and modern-day Venice. If you've never been there, you'll be booking to go, if you have, you'll be going back! - Best

  • As mesmerising as the perfecet glass at its heart - Waterstones Books Quarterly

  • Recommended - Good Book Guide

Read More Read Less

Marina Fiorato

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she read for a master's degree in Shakespeare. After university she studied art and worked in the film and music industries, creating visuals for U2, The Rolling Stones and the Queen musical We Will Rock You. Her novels Daughter of Siena and Beatrice & Benedick were shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association Historial Fiction Award. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. You can find out more about Marina and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com and follow her on Twitter @marinafiorato

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay