Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • John Murray
  • John Murray
  • John Murray
  • John Murray

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions: Auntie Poldi 1

Mario Giordano

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Auntie Poldi, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Fiction in translation

The perfect summer read set on the Mediterranean island of Sicily - perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Inspector Montalbano.

'Alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging' The Spectator Fiction at its most charming - A Man Called Ove meets Andrea Camilleri, Auntie Poldi is this summer's most unlikely hero.

Auntie Poldi can think of no finer place to wait for death than Sicily. All she asks is a sea view, fine wine (and plenty of it), and her family close around.

When death instead takes her handsome young friend Valentino - and under mysterious circumstances at that - Poldi will not take it lying down.

Perhaps it's in her blood (her father was a detective chief inspector); perhaps it's a diverting excuse to spend more time with men in uniform; or perhaps it's just the promise she makes to Valentino while holding his poor dead hand.

But Auntie Poldi's hunting instincts have never felt more alive. Justice must be served - if it's the last thing she does . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions: Auntie Poldi 1

  • Mario Giordano - a Bavarian of Sicilian parentage who writes in German - has created a delightful detective and a lively, humorous portrait of Sicilian society and gastronomy - The Times, Book of the Month

  • Wonderfully evocative . . . a joyful light read - Crime Review

  • Italo Calvino declared that profound art doesn't need to be weighty; it can also enjoy the virtues of lightness. Mario Giordano's Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions attempts a balance of the two impulses, not always successfully, but always with panache and vigour . . . the whole book is alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging. Refreshing - The Spectator

  • Giordano is a novelist of high skill and originality with an eye for eccentric comedy, idiosyncratic characters and vivid scenes. John Brownjohn's translation is stylish and this book is a masterly treat - Times Literary Supplement

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay