Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

The Home

Mats Strandberg

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Horror & ghost stories

Once inseparable, Joel and Nina haven't spoken in twenty years.

When Joel's mother Monika develops dementia, he has no choice but to return to his home town. Monika needs specialist care, and that means Pineshade - which also means Joel is going to have to deal with his one-time best friend, for Nina works there.

It's not long before Monika's health deteriorates - she starts having violent, terrifying outbursts, and worse, she appears to know things she couldn't possibly know. It's almost as if she isn't herself any more . . . but of course, that's true of most of the residents at Pineshade.

Only Nina and Joel know Monika well enough to see the signs; only by working together can they try to find answers to the inexplicable . . .

The Home is an eerie story about love, friendship and the greatest fear of all: losing control of ourselves . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Home

  • Good characters, clever story, plenty of scares. A great read. Admit yourself to The Home right now. - John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

  • Mats Strandberg is a literary cult waiting to happen: a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let the Right One In) - Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light

  • With The Home Mats Strandberg nails his position as one of the best Swedish horror writers - Skanska Dagbladet

  • With a never-failing humanism and a deep understanding of the genre, The Home is the true proof that Sweden has a new horror king - City/SWE

  • Mats Strandberg is marvellous when he lets us feel the approaching catastrophe: we feel an ice-cold chill . . . Psychology, guilt and painful secrets - Tara

  • The Home gives me goosebumps along my arms all the way up my shoulders, and shows that there is no need for armies of aliens, zombies or blood-sucking foxes. A different voice is just enough - Expressen

  • What a storyteller! The characters' failures, love stories, everyday matters, insights and shortcomings shimmer in his hands: the very ordinary life becomes a little bit more beautiful. And yes, the horrifying becomes much more horrifying than in reality as well. Although it is the shimmer that stays with you when the book is over - DAGENS NYHETER (Sweden's biggest morning newspaper)

  • Very cinematic, and with characters who have real psychological depth. Mats Strandberg scares his readers in a most refined way. This is a brilliant story - SVT

Read More Read Less

Mats Strandberg

Mats Strandberg, an award-winning writer of adult, YA and children's fiction, was born in the small industrial town of Fagersta, in the northwest of Sweden; the place inspired Engelsfors, the setting for the internationally bestselling YA fantasy Engelfors Trilogy (with co-author Sara B. Elfgren). The Circle, Fire and The Key (UK: Cornerstone; US: Overlook Press), are published in 30 countries, and ABBA founder Benny Andersson has turned the first book, The Circle, into a hit movie.
Blood Cruise, his fourth solo novel, is a top ten bestseller across Europe; Mats is currently writing the screenplay (with frequent collaborator Sara Elfgren).
His award-winning journalism won him Columnist of the Year for his regular columns for Aftonbladet, Sweden's biggest evening newspaper.

You can find Mats on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/matsstrandbergofficial and on Twitter at @matsstrandberg_

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay