Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

What's Mine and Yours

Naima Coster

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

An original and timely multi-generational novel of family, identity, and race in America, for readers of Tayari Jones and Kiley Reid.

'What's Mine And Yours dips into many genres - part coming-of-age novel, part family saga, part social commentary, it doesn't shy away from addressing racial tension, the hopelessness of addiction and how sometimes the choices parents make to better their kids' lives end up doing the opposite' Stylist

************

When a county initiative in the Piedmont of North Carolina forces the students at a mostly black public school on the east side to move across town to a nearly all-white high school on the west, the community rises in outrage. For two students, quiet and aloof Gee and headstrong Noelle, these divisions will extend far beyond their schooling. As their paths collide and overlap over the course of thirty years, their two seemingly disconnected families begin to form deeply knotted, messy ties that shape the trajectory of their lives.

On one side of the school integration debate is Jade, Gee's steely, single, black mother, grieving for her murdered partner, and determined for her son to have the best chance at a better life. On the other, is Noelle's enterprising mother, Lacey May, who refuses to see her half-Latina daughters as anything but white. The choices these mothers make will resound for years to come. And twenty years later, when Lacey's daughters return home to visit her in hospital, they're forced to confront the ways their parents' decisions continue to affect the life they live and the people they love.

WHAT'S MINE AND YOURS is a sweeping, rich tapestry of familial bond and identity, and a sharp, poignant look at the ways race affects even the closest of relationships. With gorgeous prose, Naima Coster explores the unique organism that is every family: what breaks them apart and how they come back together.

**********

'What's Mine and Yours is a book about parents who try and fail and then try again. An extraordinary cast of characters, nuanced and full of insight. Read this book' ANGIE CRUZ, author of Dominicana

Read More Read Less

Praise for What's Mine and Yours

  • What's Mine And Yours dips into many genres - part coming-of-age novel, part family saga, part social commentary, it doesn't shy away from addressing racial tension, the hopelessness of addiction and how sometimes the choices parents make to better their kids' lives end up doing the opposite. - Stylist

  • With clear focus, Coster looks at race, class and family in an original, gripping and compassionate way... A heart-wrenching generous story about deep love and passion - Adele Parks for Platinum Magazine

  • What's Mine and Yours is a book about parents who try and fail and then try again. An extraordinary cast of characters, nuanced and full of insight. It's about children who hold their loved ones accountable. It reveals in absolutely engrossing and tension-filled prose how a tragedy haunts a family. Coster is a master storyteller through and through. Read this book. - Angie Cruz, author of Dominicana

  • At its heart, What's Mine and Yours is a coming-of-age story - one that, in its foreground, examines the unraveling of marriages, complexities of siblinghood and reckonings with parents. Beneath it all lie tragedy and myriad loves that are tender and rich and fraught. - New York Times

  • A deeply layered but lightly crafted look at what it means to be a family. If you loved The Vanishing Half, you'll love What's Mine And Yours. - Red

  • Naima Coster is definitely a writer to watch. Her clear-eyed writing interrogates race, class, and family in a refreshing and thoroughly engaging way. - Jacqueline Woodson, author of Red at the Bone

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay