Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Common Ground: Did you ever have a friend who made you see the world differently?

Naomi Ishiguro

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

As heard on BBC Open Book

A classic coming of age story in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN, from the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES

*An Evening Standard Must Read, Grazia Best Book of 2021 and Independent Debut Not to Miss*
'Beautifully written, this is a book of real hope and connection' Stylist
A bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN.

It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects?

The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Common Ground: Did you ever have a friend who made you see the world differently?

  • Winsomely written and engagingly quirky - The Sunday Times

  • Stories that start like delicate webs, and finish like unbreakable wire traps - Neil Gaiman

  • Naomi Ishiguro threads magic through carefully observed realism. This is a writer whose voice I hope to be following for many years to come - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

Read More Read Less

Naomi Ishiguro

Naomi Ishiguro studied writing at the University of East Anglia and is a former bookseller and bibliotherapist at Mr B.'s Emporium in Bath. She lives in London.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay