Your cart


Total AUD


Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family, is honoured to launch the third year of The Richell Prize for Emerging Writers, in partnership with The Guardian Australia and The Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF).

Open to unpublished writers of adult fiction and adult narrative non-fiction, writers do not need to have a full manuscript at the time of submission, though they must intend to complete one.

To enter, you will submit:

* the first three chapters of your project

* a synopsis outlining the direction of the project, and

* details about how your writing career would benefit from winning the Prize via the Emerging Writers Festival website ( by Monday 3 July 2017.

The winner (announced Wednesday 1 November 2017) will receive $10,000 in prize money, and a year’s mentoring with one of Hachette Australia’s publishers. Hachette Australia will work with the winning writer to develop their manuscript with first option to consider the finished work for publication. Shortlisted entries may also be considered.

'The Richell Prize provides a unique opportunity for an emerging writer in that it not only comes with a cash prize - which directly translates into time to write and further develop craft - but also a 12-month mentorship with one of Hachette Australia's expert publishers. The prize can provide a foot in the door to the publishing industry not only for the winner, but also other entrants and shortlisted writers.' – Izzy Roberts-Orr, Creative Director of the Emerging Writers’ Festival

The Guardian Australia will publish an extract of the first chapter of the winning work and a profile on the winning writer. The Prize will also be supported by Simpsons Solicitors and Joy.

Awarded annually, the Prize is in memory of Hachette Australia’s former CEO, Matt Richell, who died suddenly in July 2014.

Related news


The Richell Prize 2018 Shortlist

After receiving over 660 entries to the 2018 Richell Prize, we are delighted to announce the 19 writers on this year’s longlist.


The 2018 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

We want to discover an exciting new Australian writer: could that be you?


Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival announce The Richell Prize winner

Hachette Australia, the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) and our media partner Guardian Australia are thrilled to announce the winner of the 2017 Richell Prize for emerging writers.


Celebrating the Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year

Winners of the ABIA award, named in honour of our late CEO, talk about what winning means to them.


Richell Prize for Emerging Writers 2021 Winner Announced

Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family and in partnership with the Emerging Writers’ Festival, is honoured to announce Simone Jordan as the recipient of the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2021.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay