Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

The Restoration of Otto Laird

Nigel Packer

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

As featured on Radio 4 Book at Bedtime this is a novel full of charm and character -- perfect for readers of The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Elderly retired architect Otto Laird lives a peaceful, if slightly bemused, existence in Switzerland with his second wife, Anika. Once renowned for his radical and controversial designs, he now spends his days communing with nature and writing eccentric (and un-posted) letters to old friends. But Otto's comfortable life is rudely interrupted when he learns that his most significant and revolutionary building, Marlowe House, a 1960s tower block council estate in south London is to be demolished.

Otto is outraged. Determined to do everything in his power to save the building, Otto returns to London for the first time in twenty-five years. As he explores his past, ponders his present and considers the future - for himself and his building - Otto embarks on a most remarkable journey, one that will change everything he ever thought he knew about himself and those closest to him.

Funny, moving and heart-warming, this is a novel featuring one of the most endearing protagonists you will ever meet, whose story will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Restoration of Otto Laird

  • Emotional, poignant and touching. It's a book we can all relate to, about love, regret and moving on. An amazing read - Deborah Rodriguez, author of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul

  • I raced through this book in one day. The eccentric and engaging character of the ageing Otto me gripped from the start. I was very moved by his struggle with his 'buttoned-up' nature and avoidance of a painful past. Well-written and informative on many levels, this is a novel to savour - Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park

Read More Read Less

Nigel Packer

During an eclectic career as a writer and journalist, Nigel Packer has been a music reviewer for BBC News Online and Ceefax, a reporting officer at the International Committee of the Red Cross and a contributor to various magazines and newspapers. He lives in London.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay