Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

Painkiller: Her pain is real ... but is the danger?

N.J. Fountain

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

Her pain - and the danger she's in - are very, very real... A read-in-one-sitting edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and Before I Go To Sleep.

I cannot go on like this. I feel such a burden to you. You are young and can start again. You deserve that chance. By the time you read this I will be dead. Do not grieve for me, for I am now without pain.

Yours truly for ever,

Monica

Monica suffers from chronic neuropathic pain. Every second of her life is spent in agony, and she is coping with it the best she can. However, there are whole years of her life which are a blur to her.

But when she finds a suicide note, written in her handwriting, she begins to question everything. She has no memory of writing it - so who did? And if someone tried to kill her once, what's to say they won't try again...

A read-in-one-sitting edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and Before I Go To Sleep.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Painkiller: Her pain is real ... but is the danger?

  • Terrific, engaging, brand new. The twist, which I didn't see coming, is perfectly set up. In fact, it was forehead-smackingly clever. Monica will stay with me for ever. - Steven Moffat

  • NJ Fountain has produced a beautifully written thriller that manages to be both devious and compulsive. - Ben Aaronovich

Read More Read Less

N.J. Fountain

N.J. Fountain is an award-winning comedy writer, chiefly known for his work on the radio and television show Dead Ringers. He has also contributed to programmes such as Have I Got News For You, 2DTV and the children's sitcom Scoop. He also writes for Private Eye.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay