Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • MacLehose Press
  • MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder: A Black Forest Investigation II

Oliver Bottini

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Germany, Crime & mystery, Fiction in translation

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - "Its plot bristles with invention" Guardian

When the fire brigade is called to a burning shed in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. Louise Boni, back with Freiburg Kripo after treatment and recuperation for her alcoholism, is assigned to the task force dealing with this case. The meagre evidence they have points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, while the arrival of secret service agents suggests more is at stake. For Louise to solve the riddle she needs to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER - NOW SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Summer of Murder: A Black Forest Investigation II

  • Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story - Frankfurter Rundschau

  • Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth - Handelsblatt

  • It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually - Die Zeit

Read More Read Less

Oliver Bottini

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. In addition his novels have been awarded the Stuttgarter Krimipreis and the Berliner Krimipreis. He lives in Berlin. www.bottini.de.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay