Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • MacLehose Press
  • MacLehose Press
  • MacLehose Press

A Summer of Murder: A Black Forest Investigation II

Oliver Bottini

5 Reviews

Rated 0

The Black Forest Investi, Germany, Crime & mystery, Fiction in translation

The second of the BLACK FOREST INVESTIGATIONS - for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

The second of the BLACK FORES INVESTIGATIONS - "Its plot bristles with invention" Guardian

It has been a long dry summer in the Black Forest idyll of Kirchzarten. When the local fire brigade is called to a burning farm shed, a volunteer is killed as a weapons cache beneath it explodes. The small community is shocked to the core. Louise Boni, back with Freiburg Kripo after a period of withdrawal, is assigned to the task force dealing with the case.

The meagre evidence they gather points to a possible connection with German neo-Nazis or illegal arms dealers from the former Yugoslavia, but the appearance of secret service agents marking out the forest suggests more is at stake. Acting as her partner in the case is Thomas Ilic, whose allegiances are as conflicted as Boni's. Who is in fact working for whom? In the most challenging case of her career - and one that puts her in mortal danger - Boni must to overcome the ghosts of her past that continue to haunt her.

Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.

Praise for ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER - now shortlisted for the CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER:

"Surprising and genuinely shocking" Joan Smith, Sunday Times

"Gripping" Sebastian Shakespeare, Tatler

"An atmospheric, original story that will keep you hooked to the final heart-rending revelations" Crime Review

Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Summer of Murder: A Black Forest Investigation II

  • Its plot bristles with invention - Guardian

  • Oliver Bottini is a terrific storyteller and he evokes his setting - the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest - with skill - Sunday Express

  • Oliver Bottini, one of the few German authors who play in crime-writing's premier league, really knows how to tell a good story - Frankfurter Rundschau

  • Tension without brutality, local colour without small-minded sentimentality, good, intelligent reading with depth - Handelsblatt

  • It's been a long time since any crime author started out so strongly, so visually - Die Zeit

Read More Read Less

Oliver Bottini

Oliver Bottini was born in 1965. Four of his novels, including ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER and A SUMMER OF MURDER of the Black Forest Investigations have been awarded the Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's most prestigious award for crime writing. ZEN AND THE ART OF MURDER was shortlisted for the 2018 CWA International Dagger. He lives in Frankfurt. www.bottini.de.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay