Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks

An Impossible Marriage: The Modern Classic

Pamela Hansford-Johnson

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Rediscover a classic gem in this sparkling and satirical tale of a love affair most ill-advised by Pamela Hansford Johnson.

Plunge yourself into the sparkling and deliciously satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson, one of Britain's wittiest authors, in this tale of a love affair most ill-advised. . .
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym.

Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shadow of her beautiful, dazzling best friend Iris, and avoiding the disapproval of her manager if she's late from her lunch break.

But when Chris is suddenly whisked off her feet by the mysterious - and much older - Ned, her life takes a swift about turn. Choosing to give up her job as a secretary in order to marry, Chris commits herself to life with Ned, only to discover that this beguiling man may not be the person she originally thought...

"I told him that I would do whatever he said, that I would learn from him, that I would trust my life to him. When he thought I was sufficiently conscious of my errors he took me and kissed me until I was breathless with joy and on the edge of hysterical tears; but inside of me a small, cold critic sat aloof..."


'Very funny' Independent
'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess

Read More Read Less

Praise for An Impossible Marriage: The Modern Classic

  • Sharply observed, artfully constructed and always enlivened by the freshness of an imagery that derives from [Johnson's] poetic beginnings - TLS

  • Witty, satirical and deftly malicious

  • Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished of the English women writers - Kirkus

  • Very funny - Independent

Read More Read Less