Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books

The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho: An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel STEPHEN FRY

Paterson Joseph

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical fiction

Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told by Paterson Joseph, one of Britain's best-loved actors

'A great storyteller and a fabulous actor. Well done, sir!' DAVID HAREWOOD

'Phenomenal! Highly recommended.' MALORIE BLACKMAN

'An absolutely thrilling, throat-catching wonder of a historical novel. Hugely recommended.' STEPHEN FRY

For fans of The Miniaturist and The Confessions of Frannie Langton comes this award-winning novel of illuminating historical fiction.

Meet Charles Ignatius Sancho: his extraordinary story, hidden for three hundred years, is about to be told.

I had little right to live, born on a slave ship where my parents both died. But I survived, and indeed, you might say I did more...

It's 1746 and Georgian London is not a safe place for a young Black man, especially one who has escaped slavery. After the twinkling lights in the Fleet Street coffee shops are blown out and the great houses have closed their doors for the night, Sancho must dodge slave catchers and worse. The man he hoped would help - a kindly duke who taught him to write - is dying. Sancho is desperate and utterly alone.

So how does Charles Ignatius Sancho meet the King, write and play highly acclaimed music, become the first Black person to vote in Britain and lead the fight to end slavery?

It's time for him to tell his story, one that begins on a tempestuous Atlantic Ocean, and ends at the very centre of London life. And through it all, he must ask: born amongst death, how much can you achieve in one short life?

"Utterly infectious." - The Times

The Times
and Sunday Times HISTORICAL BOOK OF THE MONTH

Read More Read Less

Paterson Joseph

Paterson Joseph is a beloved British actor and writer. Recently seen on Vigil and Noughts and Crosses, he has also starred in Peep Show and Law & Order UK and he plays Arthur Slugworth in the forthcoming Wonka movie. The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho is his debut novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay