Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus

German Requiem: Bernie Gunther Thriller 3

Philip Kerr

Write Review

Rated 0

Bernie Gunther, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries, Thriller / suspense

For the first time individually in ebook, the third thriller in the internationally-bestselling Bernie Gunther series

'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD
The war may be over, but the remnants of the Nazis are still causing trouble for Bernie Gunther - a hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le Carre

In postwar Vienna, the term 'peace' is relative - the Americans, British and Russians govern the city in an uneasy truce, and the main difference is that now it's the Soviet secret police making people disappear rather than the Nazis. When Bernie is asked by a high-ranking Soviet official to clear an old Kripo colleague's name of the murder of an American officer, he quickly realises he's in over his head.

Bernie's ex-colleague Becker was working for a secret society of Nazi hunters, tracking down and executing war criminals who faked their own deaths to escape the noose at Nuremberg. Infiltrating the group, Bernie finds himself face to face with men he thought he'd never see again. They've cheated justice once - now Bernie must see that they don't get away a second time.

Read More Read Less

Philip Kerr

Philip Kerr has written over thirty books of which the best-known are the internationally renowned and bestselling Bernie Gunther series. The sixth book in the series, If the Dead Rise Not, won the CWA Historical Dagger. His other works include several standalone thrillers, non-fiction and an acclaimed series for younger readers, The Children of the Lamp. Philip died in March 2018, days before the publication of his 13th Bernie Gunther thriller, Greeks Bearing Gifts. He was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature shortly before his death.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay