Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze

The Shadowing

Rhiannon Ward

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical fiction

For fans of The Silent Companions and The Familiars, a propulsive gothic mystery that invites the reader to unlock the secrets of Nottinghamshire's infamous Southwell workhouse.

When well-to-do Hester learns of her sister Mercy's death at a Nottinghamshire workhouse, she travels to Southwell to find out how her sister ended up at such a place.

Haunted by her sister's ghost, Hester sets out to uncover the truth, when the official story reported by the workhouse master proves to be untrue. Mercy was pregnant - both her and the baby are said to be dead of cholera, but the workhouse hasn't had an outbreak for years.

Hester discovers a strange trend in the workhouse of children going missing. One woman tells her about the Pale Lady, a ghostly figure that steals babies in the night. Is this lady a myth or is something more sinister afoot at the Southwell poorhouse?

As Hester investigates, she uncovers a conspiracy, one that someone is determined to keep a secret, no matter the cost...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Shadowing

  • A creepy, evocative mystery - Heat

  • An historical novel dripping with menace, featuring a sympathetic heroine, seances, and family secrets-there's so much to love about The Quickening! - Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her

  • If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all - Woman magazine

  • A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster - Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood

  • Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it - Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple

  • A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail - Hayley Webster

  • It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for - Cressida McLaughlin

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay