Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Angel Baby

Richard Lange

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Thriller / suspense

A brilliantly moving human drama meets a page-turning action thriller, for fans of George Pelecanos and Don Winslow.

Luz has made a lot of mistakes, but she's trying to make up for it. She's worked it all out. She's quit the drugs. She's only taking the clothes on her back, a gun and the money in her husband's safe. She's going to find her daughter and no one's going to stop her.

The corpses in the hallway weren't part of the plan.

In this powerful story of revenge and redemption, one woman's desperate break for freedom will change the lives of criminals and cops on both sides of the border.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Angel Baby

  • There are books - like Cormac McCarthy's No Country for Old Men and Nic Pizzolatto's Galveston - that open with a trigger snap of trouble and blast forward with the propulsive force of a bullet and never stop moving...ANGEL BABY puts Lange in a new category: crime boss - Esquire

  • When you find yourself rooting for the killer in a grisly crime novel, you know you're in the hands of a real writer - New York Times

  • Lange's prose is masterful, his sense of pacing unfaltering, and he writes about characters on the cutting edge of life... They'll call it "unputdownable" and "a page-turner," and they'll be spot on. You won't know exactly how right they are until you pick up Angel Baby and it burns you to set it aside for even a minute. - Los Angeles Review of Books

  • A film waiting to happen, this book boasts memorable characters, evocative settings and a suspenseful plot. - Kirkus

  • Strong and relentless....Beautifully paced, deftly written, ANGEL BABY is a book about moral compromise, in which we have empathy for everyone (or almost everyone) and no one at once.... As with life, ANGEL BABY offers a story in which motivations are murky and every act is weighted, and the best we can hope for is that the means will be justified by the results - Los Angeles Times

  • The story is thrilling and cinematic, told as one long chase scene....Lange inhabits his

Read More Read Less

Richard Lange

Richard Lange is the author of the short story collection Dead Boys and the novel This Wicked World and ANGEL BABY. His stories have appeared in the Sun, the Iowa Review and Best American Mystery Sstories, and as part of the Atlantic Monthly's Fiction for Kindle series. He was the 2008 recipient of the Rosenthal Family Foundation Award for Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2009. He lives in Los Angeles.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay