Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline

Born to Trouble: All she wanted was a better life

Rita Bradshaw

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas, Historical fiction

In BORN TO TROUBLE, Rita Bradshaw writes a compelling and unforgettable saga - the story of a young woman's journey to happiness... if her past will allow her. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale.

All she wants is a better life...

Born in Sunderland's filthy, crime-ridden East End, Pearl Croft's childhood is desperately troubled. When her violent, drunken father is killed in a fight and Pearl's elder brothers are sent to prison, she is left to care for her baby brothers. Then Pearl's mother brings a 'client' to the house who has a penchant for little girls. Terrified and hurt, Pearl runs away from home and is found, feverish and near death, by Romany gypsies. But this is far from the end of her struggles. Years pass and as Pearl reaches womanhood she wonders if she will ever find happiness?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Born to Trouble: All she wanted was a better life

  • Praise for Rita Bradshaw's mesmerising novels: 'If you like gritty, rags-to-riches Northern sagas, you'll enjoy this - Family Circle

  • A moving and gripping tale of love, loss and survival from one of the nation's favourite saga queens - Lancashire Evening Post

  • An emotional rollercoaster... It grabs your attention from page one - Sunderland Echo

  • All published writers have skill and creativity, but a few have more. It's called magic. I'm beginning to believe Bradshaw has it! - Historical Novels Review

  • Could have been written by a young Catherine Cookson - Peterborough Evening Telegraph

  • Catherine Cookson fans will enjoy discovering a new author who writes in a similar vein - Home and Family

Read More Read Less

Rita Bradshaw

Rita Bradshaw was born in Northamptonshire, where she still lives today. At the age of sixteen she met her husband - whom she considers her soulmate - and they have two daughters and a son and three young grandchildren. Much to her delight, Rita's first attempt at a novel was accepted for publication, and she went on to write many more successful novels under a pseudonym before writing for Headline using her own name.

As a committed Christian and passionate animal-lover Rita has a full and busy life, but her writing continues to be a consuming pleasure that she never tires of. In any spare moments she loves reading, walking, eating out and visiting the cinema and theatre, as well as being involved in her local church and animal welfare

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay