Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

The Night of the Swarm

Robert V.S. Redick

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Fantasy

The final part of the acclaimed Chathrand saga, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Scott Lynch.

As it reaches its thunderous conclusion. Robert V.S. Redick's stunning and original fantasy series combines the invention of Scott Lynch with the power of Philip Pullman.

The mighty centuries-old ship, Chathrand is long gone. . .

At the centre of an enchanted forest stands a clearing. Above it looms a ruined fragment of a vast tower. At its base, a group of friends. Exhausted, terrified. They stand around the body of a sorcerer, Arunis. They have slain this foe, but not before he unleashed the Swarm of Night, an ever-growing cloud of annihilation that is even now spreading across the world of Alifros.

Arunis summoned the Swarm using the Nilstone, an artifact from the land of the dead. And only the Nilstone has the power to banish the Swarm again. But to do this the friends, Pazel, Thasha, Neeps and the mage Ramachni, must pass through a deadly, war-torn world, by land and sea, to the very maw of death's kingdom. Only there, far from any hope of rescue, can the Nilstone be cast away.

But the Nilstone is no longer a secret. The sorceress Macadra is searching for the travellers. And while they have only each other to rely on, Macadra has an empire at her command.

Read More Read Less

Robert V.S. Redick

Robert V.S. Redick worked most recently for the anti-poverty organization Oxfam. His epic fantasy series, The Chathrand Voyage Quartet, begins with The Red Wolf Conspiracy and concluded with The Night of the Swarm (August 2012). Red Wolf was a finalist for the 2008 Locus Award for Best First Novel, and was one of the top ten science fiction and fantasy releases of the year in the SFX magazine poll. Book II, The Ruling Sea, was rated the #1 fantasy novel of 2009 by Fantasy Book Critic. Redick has also worked as an international development researcher in Argentina, baker, horse handler and drama critic. He currently lives in Virginia.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay