Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

A Wartime Promise

Ruby Reynolds

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Sagas

A gripping and poignant wartime saga following the highs and lows of the young, courageous members of the Women's Army, for fans of Daisy Styles and Ellie Dean.

A gripping and poignant wartime saga following the highs and lows of the young, courageous members of the Women's Army.

January 1941. Peggy Collins has learned a lot during her time as a Spark Girl. Posted to Swansea, as a driver to the squadron leader, she often hears things she shouldn't and she knows to be discreet, understanding how serious the phrase loose lips sink ships really is.

Peggy meets and falls in love with pilot Jim Hudson, but her heart is broken when he becomes missing in action and Peggy is left fearing the worst. That isn't the end of the shocks in store for Peggy and she is forced to remember a promise made long ago. But can she keep her word while the bombs fall?

Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, A Wartime Promise is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

Praise for The Spark Girl, Ruby's heart-warming debut (published as Fiona Ford):

'A fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles

'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Wartime Promise

  • Praise for THE SPARK GIRL - a heart-wrenching wartime saga (published as Fiona Ford):

  • 'A compelling first novel, which I promise you won't be able to put down'

  • A fabulous debut from an immensely talented author

  • Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.

Read More Read Less

Ruby Reynolds

Ruby Reynolds is the pseudonym for Fiona Ford. Fiona was born in Cornwall and grew up in Bath. As well as having a thirst for books Fiona had a huge interest in history and adored listening to her grandfather talk about his time in the navy during World War Two. Together they spent many a happy afternoon poring over the large collection of photos he had taken travelling the globe, somehow managing to perfectly capture life during wartime. Although Fiona went on to develop a successful career as a journalist, she never forgot her passion for the past. Now, Fiona has combined her love of writing with her love of days gone by in her wartime sagas.


Find out more about Fiona by following her on twitter @fionajourno, or visiting her website www.fionaford.co.uk.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay