Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

Resources

I Shot the Devil

Ruth McIver

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

A gripping and heart-stopping thriller from the Richell Prize winning author. An unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost.

'One of the freshest debuts to come along in a long time. A tense, irresistible thriller shot through with moments of unnerving darkness. A clever, compelling read.' DERVLA McTIERNAN, #1 bestselling author of The Ruin, The Scholar and The Good Turn

'This book reminds me of the first time I read Mystic River by Dennis Lehane. It's THAT good.' STEVE CAVANAGH

'An incredible thriller that kept me up reading. Intense. Wickedly smart. A stunning debut from a gifted author' ADRIAN McKINTY, bestselling author of The Chain

Erin Sloane was sixteen when high school senior Andre Villiers was murdered by his friends. They were her friends, too, led by the intense, charismatic Ricky Hell. Five people went into West Cypress Woods the night Andre was murdered. Only three came out.

Ativan, alcohol and distance had dimmed Erin's memories of that time. But nearly twenty years later, an ageing father will bring her home. Now a journalist, she is asked to write a story about the Southport Three and the thrill-kill murder that electrified the country. Erin's investigation propels her closer and closer to a terrifying truth. And closer and closer to danger.

An unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost, I Shot the Devil is a taut, prize-winning debut novel from an electrifying new talent.

'This is a stunner of a debut thriller' The Irish Independent

'I Shot The Devil is a dark, twisting thriller that gets deep under your skin.' MARK BRANDI

'A powder-keg with a slow burning fuse . . . perfectly balanced and terrifically twisting, I Shot the Devil is for fans of Alex Marwood, Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn' Books+Publishing

'I Shot the Devil is a taut, page-turning thriller and an unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost' Australian Women's Weekly

'The Satanic Panic of the 80s and 90s forms an intriguing backdrop to this buzzy crime thriller' The West Australian

'a slick, atmospheric thriller' Sunday Times

'I loved this book . . . I can see David Lynch reading this up in Mulholland Drive'
BRENDAN COWELL

Read More Read Less

Resources

Left
loading...

I Shot The Devil by Ruth McIver | Coming 1 Sep 2021

loading...

Entries Now Open for the 2021 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

loading...

The Richell Prize 2020 is now open

Right
Left
loading...

I Shot The Devil by Ruth McIver | Coming 1 Sep 2021

Right
Left
loading...

Entries Now Open for the 2021 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

loading...

The Richell Prize 2020 is now open

Right

Ruth McIver

Ruth McIver recently completed her PhD in the field of true crime inspired fiction with Curtin University. Her first unpublished novel, Nothing Gold, was runner-up in the inaugural Banjo Prize (2018) and was one of seven novels selected to be pitched at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival (2014). Ruth's novel-in-verse, The Sunset Club (2014), is a DIY publication that was highly commended in the Anne Elder category by the FAW (Fellowship of Australian Writers). I Shot the Devil won the 2018 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay