Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

Resources

I Shot the Devil

Ruth McIver

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

For readers of Gillian Flynn comes an unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost from the Richell Prize winning debut author.

I used to think that I'd escaped Southport . . .
Now I realised, Southport had been coming for me all this time.

Erin Sloane was sixteen when high school senior Andre Villiers was murdered by his friends. They were her friends, too, led by the intense, charismatic Ricky Hell. Five people went into West Cypress Road Woods the night Andre was murdered. Only three came out.

Ativan, alcohol and distance had dimmed Erin's memories of that time. But nearly twenty years later, an ageing father will bring her home. Now a journalist, she is asked to write a story about the Southport Three and the thrill-kill murder that mesmerised the country. Erin's investigation propels her closer and closer to a terrifying truth. And closer and closer to danger.

An unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost, I SHOT THE DEVIL is a taut, page-turning debut novel from an electrifying new talent.

'a powder-keg with a slow burning fuse . . . perfectly balanced and terrifically twisting, I Shot the Devil is for fans of Alex Marwood, Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn' Books+Publishing

Read More Read Less

Resources

Left
loading...

I Shot The Devil by Ruth McIver | Coming 1 Sep 2021

loading...

Entries Now Open for the 2021 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

loading...

The Richell Prize 2020 is now open

Right
Left
loading...

I Shot The Devil by Ruth McIver | Coming 1 Sep 2021

Right
Left
loading...

Entries Now Open for the 2021 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers

loading...

The Richell Prize 2020 is now open

Right

Ruth McIver

Ruth McIver recently completed her PhD in the field of true crime inspired fiction with Curtin University. Her first novel, Nothing Gold, was runner up in the inaugural Banjo Prize (2018) and was one of seven novels selected to be pitched at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival (2014). Ruth's novel-in-verse, The Sunset Club (2014), is a DIY publication that was highly commended in the Anne Elder category by the FAW (Fellowship of Australian Writers). I Shot the Devil won the 2018 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay