Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio

This Child of Ours: 'Broke my heart and gently pieced it back together' CATHY BRAMLEY

Sadie Pearse

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

'An important and moving story' Clare Mackintosh

THIS CHILD OF OURS is an astonishingly insightful and touching debut novel from Sadie Pearse.

A daughter's cry for help is tearing her parents apart

Readers love THIS CHILD OF OURS...

'An important and moving story' Clare Mackintosh
'Thoughtful and sensitive' Cath Staincliffe
'Absolutely beautiful' Rachel Burton

'I absolutely loved this book' 5* Netgalley review
'Thought-provoking, nerve-wracking and poignantly relevant' 5* Netgalley review
'A fantastic read with a sensitive subject at its heart' 5* Netgalley review

------------------------------------------------------
You know what's best for your child.
Don't you?

Riley Pieterson is an adventurous girl with lots of questions and plenty she doesn't know yet; what a human brain looks like. All the constellations in the night sky. Why others can't see her the way she sees herself.

When Riley confides in her parents, Sally and Theo, that she feels uncomfortable in her own skin they have completely different reactions. Sally wants to support her daughter by helping her be who she dreams of being, but Theo thinks Riley is a seven-year-old child pushing boundaries.
What happens to a family when both parents believe theirs is the only way to protect the child caught in the middle?

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Laurie Frankel, Kate Hewitt and Jill Childs.

Read More Read Less

Praise for This Child of Ours: 'Broke my heart and gently pieced it back together' CATHY BRAMLEY

  • Excellent read, perfect for book clubs... An important and moving story.

  • Sadie Pearse has written a truly sensitive and involving novel about gender, identity and family that has important things to say, but does so with warmth and great storytelling. It feels like a book that all modern parents should read

  • Both thought provoking and emotional, it will have you in cheers as well as tears - The Sun

  • This book broke my heart and gently pieced it back together. It is original, sensitive and intensely moving and I was constantly questioning myself: what would I do. An incredibly accomplished novel.

  • An important story that will prompt discussion - Good Housekeeping

  • Heart-wrenching - Fabulous Magazine

  • The kind of book that everyone will have an opinion on. Thought-provoking, moving and incredibly insightful.

  • A thoughtful and sensitive account of parenting a transgender child and the emotional and practical challenges it raises.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay