Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Awakenings: A sweeping dual-timeline historical novel for fans of Kate Morton

Sarah Maine

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Scotland, c 1800 to c 1900, Historical adventure, Historical romance, Historical fiction

Sarah Maine's immersive and compelling novel explores the struggle by two women, divided across centuries, for control over their lives.

An immersive and compelling novel that explores the struggle by two women, divided across centuries, for control over their lives, set against a beautiful historical backdrop.


'An echo of Daphne du Maurier' Independent


A grieving woman . . .
Yorkshire, 1890. Forced to exchange her childhood home for her uncle's vicarage after a tragic loss, Olwen Malkon finds herself trapped between her aunt's cruelty and the sinister advances of her cousin.

A troubled past . . .
When Olwen finds herself afflicted by strange dreams of a woman from a distant past, whose fate is overshadowed by menace and betrayal, those around her are determined to dismiss them as hysteria - except the local doctor, John, with whom she develops a connection.

A long-buried secret . . .
As the visions intensify, they begin to mirror reality, threatening to expose chilling secrets. What dangers lie ahead for Olwen, and does the past hold the key to her own future...?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Awakenings: A sweeping dual-timeline historical novel for fans of Kate Morton

  • A captivating tale of a brutal betrayal that eerily harks back to an ancient wrong, and of a love determined to defy the constraints of time. A most enjoyable read!

  • In this absorbing and evocative novel, Maine weaves a compelling tale of love, power and betrayal that echoes through the centuries . . . An engaging and immersive novel, featuring a little-known period of British history, with two vibrant and sympathetic women at its heart.

  • The Awakenings is an epic timeslip story that had me spell-bound from start to finish . . . I simply couldn't put it down - brilliant!

  • An intriguing and mesmerising story by the brilliant Sarah Maine

  • The reader is plunged in two vividly drawn worlds as the author takes us back in time to Yorkshire in 1890 and 790, skilfully inter-weaving the stories of two women as they struggle against the constraints and very real dangers of society across the centuries. The Awakenings is a haunting and compelling mystery.

Read More Read Less

Sarah Maine

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. Sarah's debut novel The House Between Tides (previously Bhalla Strand 2014) was re-published by Hodder & Stoughton in 2018. Beyond the Wild River (2017) is her second novel and Women of the Dunes will be published in 2018.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay