Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by real acts of resistance, a heartrending story of one woman's courage in WW2

Sarah Steele

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon.

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope...

*The Lost Song of Paris, the new novel from Sarah Steele, is available to pre-order now!*Inspired by real acts of bravery and resistance, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of one woman's courage and sacrifice during World War II, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Piece of Nancy Moon.

This exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Rose Code by Kate Quinn, The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

'A beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can't forget' Mandy Robotham, author of The Berlin Girl

'An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long' Sunday Times bestselling author Jill Mansell

'Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down' Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde

______ 'My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .'

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers' arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

______

'An engaging tale of courage and friendship. A triumph!' Gill Paul 'Evocative writing and the storytelling is masterful. It really draws the reader in' Felicity Hayes-McCoy

'A gripping journey about the quiet triumphs and breathtaking courage of so many women in wartime' Jane Bailey Readers ADORE The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel:

'I loved this book, I finished reading it on VE Day. It is certainly a fitting tribute to the everyday people i
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by real acts of resistance, a heartrending story of one woman's courage in WW2

  • I gorged on cherries and slices of rich history in this beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can't forget

  • Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down

  • An engaging tale of courage and friendship. The setting in the French countryside is lush and summery. A triumph!

  • An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I especially loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long

  • The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel really draws the reader in. The storytelling is masterful, as are all the subtle touches that convey the sense of place; and, as with Nancy Moon, the bedrock is Sarah's nuanced, unsentimental portrayal of warm, compassionate female friendships

Read More Read Less

Sarah Steele

Sarah Steele trained as a classical pianist and violinist before joining the world of publishing as an editorial assistant at Hodder and Stoughton. She was for many years a freelance editor, and now lives in the vibrant Gloucestershire town of Stroud. Her debut novel The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon was published by Headline.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay