Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books
  • Dialogue Books

Permission

Saskia Vogel

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A raw and haunting literary debut about loss, loneliness and sex from 'a gleaming new talent' (Observer)

'Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling' Janet Fitch, bestselling author of WHITE OLEANDER

'An addictive read you'll finish within hours' Stylist

'Vogel is a gleaming new talent' Observer

'An alternative feminist love story for the modern age' Big Issue

'Refreshing' Guardian

'Dreamy' Oprah Magazine
____________

A raw, fresh, haunting, emotionally and sexually honest literary debut.

When Echo's father gets swept away by a freak current off the Los Angeles coast, she finds herself sinking into a complete state of paralysis. With no true friends and a troubled relationship with her mother, the failed young actress attempts to seek solace in the best way she knows: by losing herself in the lives of strangers. When, by chance, Echo meets a dominatrix called Orly, it finally feels like she might have found someone who will be nurturing and treasure her for who she is. But Orly's fifty-something houseboy, Piggy, isn't quite ready to let someone else share the intimate relationship he's worked so hard to form with his mistress.

PERMISSION is a love story about people who are sick with dreams and expectations and turn to the erotic for comfort and cure. As they stumble through the landscape of desire, they are in a desperate search for the answer to that sacred question: how do I want to be loved?

Read More Read Less

Praise for Permission

  • Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling

  • Formidable in its elegance and fierce in its simplicity, Saskia Vogel's writing leaves the reader stunned and moved and wanting more

  • If Joan Didion had written about the BDSM community in LA it may have felt a bit like Permission - Lit Hub (Must read books of 2019)

  • A quietly transgressive tale of desire, love, loneliness, restraint and connection. The writing is fresh and minimal and the characters full of longing. A blistering debut for fans of Mary Gaitskill and A. M. Homes

  • Permission excavates the uncertain landscape that lies just beneath the Hollywood dream factory we think we all know and against all odds finds something sacred there

  • Vogel's portrayal of sexual kink is particularly refreshing: rather than pruriently gorging on catharsis, Permission foregrounds the emotional intimacy - built on constancy, trust and compassion - that can flourish in the most unconventional relationships - Guardian

  • Vogel's writing is beauty in motion. From capturing a humiliating date with a predatory agent to what attracts people to BDSM, this is an addictive read you'll finish within hours - Stylist

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay