Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

Death in Avignon

Serena Kent

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite mysteries - escapist, entertaining crime fiction set in glamorous Provence

'Humorous and light-hearted, with a plotline that you can't put down, Death in Avignon is the perfect escapist read for dreaming of sun-washed Provence and intrigue a la Fran aise' Belle Provence Travels

Glamour, intrigue, and a mystery to die for...

After a tumultuous summer, Penelope Kite has settled into the rhythm of her new life in Provence. Lavender-scented evenings, long lunches with new friends - and an exclusive gallery opening to attend, on the arm of the gorgeous mayor of St Merlot...


But beneath the veneer of glamour, scandal is brewing. Shockwaves ripple through the Avignon art world when a controversial painter, Roland Doncaster, chokes on an almond-stuffed olive.


A tragic accident? Or a ruthless poisoning? Embroiled once more in a murder investigation, Penelope discovers that any number of jealous lovers and scheming rivals could be in the frame. And with dashing art dealers to charm, patisseries to resist, and her own friends under suspicion, Penelope will need all her sleuthing talents to unveil the truth...


Return to the charm of Provence for another delightful Penelope Kite mystery! The perfect holiday read for fans of MC Beaton, Peter Mayle and Betty Rowlands

'Serena Kent is a dazzling story-teller...sparkling' On My Bookshelf Blog

'Not only is Death in Provence a great mystery novel, it's also laugh-out-loud funny' Belle Provence

'Fresh, entertaining and very funny' Joanna Park, blogger 'Perfect reading material for literary wanderlust to Provence' Tripfiction blog

***

Readers are enchanted by the Serena Kent series:

'This book is as good as a holiday'

'This story immerses the reader in Provence . . . an excellent read'

'If your idea of heaven after a hard day is winding down with a glass of chilled rose, or even a plum brandy, then this is for you'

'Entirely captivating and evocative . . . A truly diverting adventure in the Luberon hills'

'The perfect summer tale, transporting the reader to atmospheric Provence. . . I look forward to find out what mysteries the intriguing Penelope will unravel next'

'Such an entertaining and refreshing read . . . a cast of colourful characters who made me laugh out loud with their quirks

Read More Read Less

Praise for Death in Avignon

  • As scenic murders go, it's hard to beat the dead man floating in the swimming pool of Le Chant d'Eau, a stone farmhouse hilltop-high in Death in Provence.... Who could resist a vacation in Provence? - New York Times Book Review

  • Riffing on Peter Mayle and his year in Provence-as well as Alexander McCall Smith and his Ladies' Detective Agency-this is the first in a breezy mystery series set among the vineyards and olive groves of the Luberon - National Geographic

  • Penelope sparkles, turning what could have been a lightweight Shirley Temple into champagne . . . updates on her heroine's further adventures would be most welcome - Kirkus

  • Charming. . . While the quirky characters are enjoyable, it's the details of the details of Proven al life that will attract armchair travelers, fans of Peter Mayle - Library Journal

Read More Read Less

Serena Kent

Serena Kent is the author name of husband-and-wife writing duo, Deborah Lawrenson and Rob Rees. Deborah has previously published eight novels including The Art of Falling, The Lantern, The Sea Garden and 300 Days of Sun.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay