Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

Rules for Ghosting

Shelly Jay Shore

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Romance, Adult & contemporary romance, Ghosts & poltergeists

Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston, Talia Hibbert and Kristen Arnett, Shelly Jay Shore's warm and witty debut, follows Ezra, an anxious trans man and reluctant clairvoyant who must embrace the gift he long ignored in order to save his messy Jewish family's failing funeral home - and his own chance at a love story.

'Part ghost story, part Jewish family epic, and part romance, RULES FOR GHOSTING is a meditation on life, death, and healing that is at turns bitingly funny and deeply moving' - Anita Kelly

Rule #1: They can't speak. | Rule #2: They can't move. | Rule #3: They can't hurt you.

Ezra Friedman can see ghosts - which made growing up in a funeral home a complicated experience. Things might have been easier if his grandfather's ghost didn't spend so much time giving disapproving looks at every choice he makes, from his taste in boyfriends to his HRT-induced second puberty. It's no wonder that since he moved out he's stayed as far away from the family business as possible.

But when the floor of his dream job drops out from under him and his mother uses the family Passover seder to tell everyone that she's escaping both her funeral home admin duties and her marriage to run away with the rabbi's wife, Ezra finds himself back in the thick of it.

Having agreed to help out, Ezra has to face not only his family but also his unfortunate crush on Jonathan, the handsome funeral home volunteer who just happens to also be his new neighbour . . . and the ghost related to Jonathan who is breaking every spectral rule Ezra knows. As Ezra tries to keep his family together and his heart from getting broken, he quickly realizes that there's more than one way to be haunted - and more than one way to become a ghost.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Rules for Ghosting

  • Fully immersive from the first page, Shore's writing grabbed me by the throat and never let go. Part ghost story, part Jewish family epic, and part romance, RULES FOR GHOSTING is a meditation on life, death, and healing, told through a queer and trans lens that is at turns bitingly funny and deeply moving. Shore is an immense talent. Ezra's world will live in my heart for a long time. - Anita Kelly, author of LOVE AND OTHER DISASTERS

  • A tender, heart-filled novel, RULES FOR GHOSTING is a beautiful story about identity, family, faith, community, and first love. . . . A breathtaking debut - Ashley Herring Blake, author of DELILIAH GREEN DOESN'T CARE

  • As unabashedly queer as it is loudly and beautifully Jewish, RULES FOR GHOSTING is one of the most unique, poignant novels I've read in a long, long time. Ezra's journey through self, complicated family dynamics, and opening up to new love was one I'll never forget - Carlyn Greenwald, author of SIZZLE REEL

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay