Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Gallowglass

S.J. Morden

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Science fiction

Near-future, edge-of-your seat climate change thriller for fans of Al Reynolds and Richard Morgan

The year is 2069, and the earth is in flux. Whole nations are being wiped off the map by climate change. Desperate for new resources, the space race has exploded back into life.

Corporations seek ever greater profits off-world. They offer immense rewards to anyone who can claim space's resources in their name. The bounty on a single asteroid rivals the GDP of entire countries, so every trick, legal or not, is used to win.

Jack, the scion of a shipping magnate, is desperate to escape earth and joins a team chasing down an asteroid. But the ship he's on is full of desperate people - each one needing the riches claiming the asteroid will bring them, and they're willing to do anything if it means getting there first.

Because in Space, there are no prizes for coming second. It's all or nothing: riches beyond measure, or dying alone in the dark.


Praise for ONE WAY:


'A blend of classic mystery, ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK and Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN, ONE WAY is a science fiction thriller like no other' Waterstones

Read More Read Less

Praise for Gallowglass

  • One Way is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric enough that you will believe yourself under a cold Martian sky. An utterly fabulous book! - Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN

  • An intense, gripping sci-fi thriller [ONE WAY] - Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author

  • One Way is a taut and claustrophobic hard SF thriller. Morden does a fantastic job of ratcheting up the tension like oxygen escaping from a pressurised Martian habitat - Gavin Smith

  • A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter [ONE WAY] - John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE

  • A claustrophobic, high-tension, survival-against-the-odds thriller. It paints a convincing picture of the lethal Martian envrionment as well as the growing terror of being incarcerated in a deadly prison with no way out. [ONE WAY] - Guardian

Read More Read Less

S.J. Morden

Dr S. J. Morden has won the Philip K. Dick Award and been a judge on the Arthur C. Clarke Award. He is a bona fide rocket scientist with degrees in Geology and Planetary Geophysics. ONE WAY is the perfect fusion of his incredible breadth of knowledge and ability to write award-winning, razor-sharp science fiction.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay