Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia

The Broken Ones

Stephen M. Irwin

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A spine-tingling supernatural detective novel for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

By the creator and writer of the hit TV show SECRETS & LIES, the chilling story of Oscar Mariani, a detective who must face his own ghosts if he is to stop a brutal killer creating more

'Gothic, gripping and genuinely scary...one to read late into the night.' Who Weekly

No one is safe. The world has descended into chaos. On the surface, everything looks the same - yet the unthinkable has happened. The dead have risen...

Everyone is haunted by a relative, friend, spouse or stranger and these spirits are unshakeable, silent and watching. Governments the world over fail to deal with the epidemic. Crime is rife and murders commonplace. But who is responsible: the ghosts or the people?

Finding out is where Detective Oscar Mariani comes in, although it's nearly impossible to run a department when you can't even see half the suspects. His strike rate is embarrassingly low.

Then he stumbles onto a case that cuts through his apathy. A ritualistic, brutal serial killer is at work murdering young women, and the evidence implicates those in high places. If Mariani can solve the case, and keep himself alive, he may be able to exorcise his own ghostly shadow, a dead young man who just might have a message Mariani needs to hear.

A gripping mix of police procedural and supernational thriller, The Broken Ones is a knuckle-whitening ride.

'The writing is at once witty, gritty and grim. The horrors are genuinely horrible and the imagined scenario is satisfyingly rich and suggestive.' Pick of the Week, Sydney Morning Herald

Read More Read Less

Stephen M. Irwin

Stephen Irwin is a young Australian writer, living in Brisbane. The Darkening is his debut and Hachette Australia are publishing under the title The Dead Path this summer.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay