Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

The Empire Girls: A heartbreaking family saga about love and friendship in post-war Britain

Sue Wilsher

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance, Sagas

The second Essex-set 1950s saga from the talented Sue Wilsher - heartwrenching and emotional.

A heart-breaking wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas

How far would you go to protect your family? . . .

Essex, 1950.

The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris's mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself.

Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life. When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home - back to Tilbury. But she's still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work.

Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain. Now Doris must decide where her heart lies . . .

A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of post-war England

REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels:

'I absolutely loved this book - it was so gripping that I read it from cover to cover in one sitting'

'This story was fabulous. It won't be my last Sue Wilsher book'

'Brilliant author - you won't be disappointed'

'Couldn't put the book down. I cannot wait for her next novel'

Read More Read Less

Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher grew up in South Essex near a shoe factory and the Thames estuary. The shoe company housed its workers, including Sue's grandparents and mother. Sue based her debut novel, When My Ship Comes In, on the history of the area. She now lives in Kent with her husband and two children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay