Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Abacus
  • Abacus

Miracle on Cherry Hill

Sun-mi Hwang

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The third novel from the celebrated author of the two million-copy number one international bestseller THE HEN WHO DREAMED SHE COULD FLY. For fans of A MAN CALLED OVE and MY GRANDMOTHER SENDS HER REGARDS AND APOLOGIES by Fredrick Backman.

Celebrated bestselling author Sun-mi Hwang is back with a new novel, THE MIRACLE ON CHERRY HILL, a heartwarming story of renewal and friendship.

A terminally ill old man returns to his hometown, Cherry Village, to live out the remaining days of his life. Kang Dae-su grapples with his childhood demons and feelings of bitterness about the past but, eventually, his ice-cold heart starts to melt as he reluctantly begins to interact with those around him. In Hwang's graceful, gentle prose, Kang's story unspools as he encounters the inhabitants of Cherry Village and begins to face his childhood demons.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Miracle on Cherry Hill

  • A very special little book. I absolutely loved it, and I find myself still thinking about Sprout. She embodies all the best characteristics of deep-hearted mother-love: loyalty, sacrifice, and courage - Lisa See, author of the New York Times bestsellers Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

  • Sometimes the simplest character, expressed in the sparest prose, embarks upon life's most heroic journey . . . The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly [is] a novel uniquely poised at the nexus of fable, philosophy, children's literature and nature writing - Adam Johnson, author of the Pulitzer Prize winner The Orphan Master s Son on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

  • Everything wonderful about the world is contained in this small gem of a novel, which brims with dream-fulfilling adventures and the longing that underlies love - Kyung-sook Shin, New York Times bestselling author of Please Look After Mom on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

  • [A] simply told but absorbing fable . . . Spare but evocative line drawings . . . add to the subtle charm - Publishers Weekly on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

  • A subtle morality tale that will appeal to readers of all ages - Kirkus Reviews on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

  • I was completely sucked into this story bursting with originality . . . an instant classic - Guardian on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

  • Bewitching . . . a fabular bestseller . . . will make grown men and women cry - Independent on The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

Read More Read Less

Sun-mi Hwang

Sun-mi Hwang is a beloved writer in South Korea, where she has won many awards and published more than forty books enjoyed by adults and children alike. She lives in Seoul, South Korea.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay