Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere

A View Across the Rooftops: An epic, heart-wrenching and gripping World War Two historical novel

Suzanne Kelman

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical fiction

An incredible story of love, hope and friendship, and a testament to humanity and courage in history's darkest days - perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice

1941, Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. An unforgettable story of love, hope and betrayal, and a testament to the courage of humanity in history's darkest days.

University professor Josef Held has never recovered from the loss of his beloved wife - and has no intention of ever letting anyone new into his quiet, safe world. It is a world where the clock ticks steadily in his mathematics classroom, even as the sinister beat of Nazi soldiers' boots threaten to drown it out.

Terrified, Josef tries to keep his eyes on the ground as Jews across the city are forced into ghettos. But then Michael Blum, his most reluctant, infuriating pupil, tells Josef Jews like him will no longer be allowed to study at all. Josef can ignore the situation no longer. And, after the shock of seeing his neighbour killed on his own doorstep, he offers Michael a place to hide in an impulsive act of courage.

Michael is everything Josef is not: spontaneous, poetic, and unafraid to love. Even though his passionate relationship with a Dutch girl is strictly forbidden - for he is Jewish, and she is not. Somehow, in the quiet gloom of the attic, Josef doesn't mind things about Michael that annoyed him in the classroom, and a bond begins to grow.

Remembering the pain of his own heartbreak, Josef is desperate to give Michael and his girlfriend a chance. He must go on as if nothing has changed: teaching his class, bowing to the Nazis. Beneath the fear, a thrill of defiance begins to bloom. But then Michael becomes perilously ill, and there is no way to get him the help he desperately needs.

As the dark days of war continue, with danger and betrayal at every turn, no-one can be trusted. If Michael is to survive and get back to the woman he loves, it will be down to Josef - to find the hero inside himself, and do whatever it takes to keep Michael alive. Even if it means putting his own life on the line.

A heartbreakingly beautiful story about love, trust, and courage against the odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Lilac Girls, and The Nightingale.

Readers are loving A View Across the Rooftops:

'Oh my goodness... Hauntingly beautiful... Incredibly powerful... I cried, I grieved and I hoped... I was left both heartbroken and satisfied.' Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

'The roller coaster of emotions I went through while reading this book is amazing... For an author to make me literally cry... The story is just incredible.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Five beautiful, fantastic, emotional stars! I loved this book!... A beautifully written story.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'If I could give this bo
Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay