Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

A Good Neighbourhood

Therese Anne Fowler

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A provocative novel about class, race and star-crossed love in modern America from New York Times bestselling author Therese Anne Fowler that implicates us all in its damning, heart-wrenching conclusion.

A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love will change two families' lives forever. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult.

'A feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good.' Jodi Picoult

'There's no doubting this novel's power'
Daily Mail

In Oak Knoll, a tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door - an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenage daughter.

With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard.

But as they fight, they fail to notice that there is a romance blossoming between their two teenagers. A romance that will challenge the carefully constructed concepts of class and race in this small community. A romance that might cause everything to shatter...

Praise for A Good Neighbourhood...

'Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart . . . hard to put down and hard to forget'
LAURIE FRANKEL, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS

'This is a story that will stick with you for a long time'
EMILY GIFFIN, NO.1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ALL WE EVER WANTED

'Smart dialogue, compelling characters and a communal "we" narrator that implicates us all in the wrenching conclusion'
TARA CONKLIN, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LAST ROMANTICS

'A thought provoking and gripping novel - the kind that will have you savouring every page'
CULTUREFLY

'It's the kind of book you tell your friends to read immediately, just so you have someone to talk to about it'
i PAPER

'Make sure a friend reads it too - you're going to want to talk about this book as soon as you finish it'
GOOD MORNING AMERICA

'Beautiful, compelling and heartbreaking'
GLASGOW HERALD
'A brilliantly written novel for our times'
BRUCE HOLSINGER, AUTHOR OF THE GIFTED SCHOOL

'This page-turner delivers a thoughtful exploration of prejudice, preconceived notions, and what it means to be innocent'
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

'A rippling story for fans of suspenseful domestic dramas'

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Good Neighbourhood

  • A feast of a read: compelling, heart-breaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighbourhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good. - Jodi Picoult

  • Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart . . . a full-hearted, unflinching indictment of a broken system . . . hard to put down and hard to forget. - Laurie Frankel

  • This is a story that will stick with you for a long time. - Emily Giffin

  • A rippling story for fans of suspenseful domestic dramas - Booklist

  • Fowler's fascinating plot is skillfully executed, delving into each character's complexities fully enough that their choices make perfect sense. This page-turner delivers a thoughtful exploration of prejudice, preconceived notions, and what it means to be innocent. - Publishers Weekly

  • An unforgettable, heart-breaking story - Library Journal, starred review

  • A thought provoking and gripping novel - the kind that will have you savouring every page - CultureFly

  • Prepare for tears and make sure a friend reads it too - you're going to want to talk about this book as soon as you finish it - Good Morning America

Read More Read Less

Therese Anne Fowler

Therese Anne Fowler was born in Illinois and is a graduate of North Carolina State University, where she earned a BA in sociology and an MFA in creative writing.

ThereseAnneFowler.com
twitter.com/ThereseFowler
facebook.com/thereseannefowler.books

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay