Your cart


Total AUD



  • Corsair

Under the Frog: Shortlisted for the Booker prize

Tibor Fischer

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Available for the first time in eBook, Under the Frog - Tibor Fischer's debut novel - won the 1992 Betty Trask Award and was the first debut novel to be shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Under the Frog follows the adventures of two young Hungarian basketball players through the turbulent years between the end of World War II and the anti-Soviet uprising of 1956. In this spirited indictment of totalitarianism, the two improbable heroes, Pataki and Gyuri, travel the length and breadth of Hungary in an epic quest for food, lodging, and female companionship.

Praise for Under the Frog:

'A delicate, seriocomic treasure' ?Salman Rushdie

'Ferociously funny, bitterly sad, and perfectly paced' ?A.S. Byatt

Read More Read Less

Tibor Fischer

The son of Hungarian refugees, Tibor Fischer was born in Stockport in 1959. His first novel, Under the Frog was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1993. He is the author of four other novels, The Thought Gang, The Collector Collector, Voyage to the End of the Room and Good to be God as well as a collection of short stories Don't Read This Book If You're Stupid.

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, his work has been published in twenty-five languages.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay