Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

Tom Callaghan

6 Reviews

Rated 0

An Inspector Akyl Boruba, Former Soviet Union, USSR (Europe), Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Espionage & spy thriller, Political / legal thriller

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz

A hard-hitting thriller for fans of Tom Rob Smith, Mick Herron and Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series.

'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony Horowitz

WE UNCOVERED THE LAST OF THE BODIES IN THE RED HOUR BEFORE DUSK, AS THE SUN STAINED THE SNOWCAPS OF THE TIAN SHAN MOUNTAINS THE COLOUR OF DRIED BLOOD. . .

Inspector Akyl Borubaev of Bishkek Murder Squad has been exiled to the far corner of Kyrgyzstan, but death still haunts him at every turn. Borubaev soon finds himself caught up in a mysterious and gruesome new case: several children's bodies have been found buried together - all tagged with name bands. In his search for the truth behind the brutal killings, Borubaev hits a wall of silence, with no one to turn to outside his sometime lover, the beautiful undercover agent Saltanat Umarova.

When Borubaev himself is framed, accused of involvement in the production of blood-soaked child pornography, it looks as though things couldn't get any worse. With the investigation at a dangerous standstill, Borubaev sets out to save his own integrity, and to deliver his own savage justice on behalf of the many dead who can't speak for themselves . . .

'Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away' Peter Robinson, No.1 bestselling author of Sleeping in the Ground

'Storytelling of the highest quality . . . Introduces a detective it is impossible not to believe in. Callaghan is a new voice to be welcomed' Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

  • Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation - Anthony Horowitz

  • Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away - Peter Robinson, author of the bestselling DCI Banks series

  • Storytelling of the highest quality . . . Introduces a detective it is impossible not to believe in. Callaghan is a new voice to be welcomed - Daily Mail

  • This is a thrilling, intense debut from a powerfully descriptive writer - The Daily Express

  • [Tom Callaghan's] gloomy atmospheric portrait convinces and he writes with style and panache . . . A lively story and a riveting glimpse of an unknown society - The Times

  • Unforgettable - The Sunday Times

Read More Read Less

Tom Callaghan

Born in the north of England, Tom Callaghan was educated at the University of York and Vassar College, USA. An inveterate traveller, he divides his time between London, Prague, Dubai and Bishkek.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay