Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Black River

Tom Harper

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Adventure

The incredible new novel from Tom Harper, set in one of the most dangerous environments on the planet.

This unputdownable Amazonian adventure is perfect for fans of The Lost City of Z. 'The thinking person's Dan Brown' Tom Harper has taken you to the underworld. He's taken you to the Arctic. Now he's taking you to the deadliest jungle on earth.

When Kel MacDonald joins an expedition looking for a legendary lost city in the Peruvian Amazon, he's expecting the adventure of a lifetime. But things are not what they seem. Paramilitaries, drug cartels, and wildcat prospectors all want what the jungle has to offer - while untamed local tribes will fight desperately to protect their way of life. Maps of the region have been doctored. And what exactly happened to the previous expedition, a government vaccination program that went upriver and never returned?

Soon finding the lost city is the least of their troubles. The jungle hides deadly secrets that must be hidden at all costs. And someone in the group wants to make sure they never get out.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Black River

  • There is food here for mind, sense, and heart. It is exceedingly high-class entertainment. - NJ Cooper on THE ORPHEUS DESCENT

  • 'Tom Harper has been writing elaborate thrillers that marry ironclad narrative skills with some of the most elegantly understated writing in the field; he's the thinking person's Dan Brown. Actually, Harper deserves the latter's success -- and more, as Harper is comfortably the better writer.' - Barry Forshaw, author of The Rough Guide to Crime Writing.

  • Prose that sparkles, jokes that amuse and characters that resemble human beings. - Telegraph on THE ORPHEUS DESCENT

  • Harper effortlessly draws the reader into an unfamiliar time, bringing alive the characters and their motivations - Publishers Weekly on THE ORPHEUS DESCENT

  • A wonderful, engaging read... - booksandtales.blogspot.co.uk on THE ORPHEUS DESCENT

  • Zodiac Station is thrilling and immersive - a suspenseful adventure novel with a unique setting and a compelling sense of place. Harper cleverly employs the isolation of his Arctic backdrop to crank up the claustrophobia and paranoia before delivering an unexpected and satisfying twist.

Read More Read Less

Tom Harper

Tom Harper was born in West Germany in 1977 and grew up in Germany, Belgium and America. He studied history at Lincoln College, Oxford, worked for a while in the glamorous world of pensions services, and now writes full time. He lives in York with his wife and two sons. His novels have been sold into twenty languages, from Brazil to China. In 2001 Tom Harper's debut, The Blighted Cliffs, was the runner up for the CWA Debut Dagger Award. He can be found online at www.tom-harper.co.uk.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay