Your cart


Total AUD



  • Gollancz
  • Gateway

The Steps of the Sun and Far From Home: An Omnibus

Walter Tevis

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Science fiction

Two classic SF works from the acclaimed author of THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH.

The Walter Tevis Omnibus contains two works from the acclaimed author of THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH, THE HUSTLER and THE COLOUR OF MONEY.

In a time when America's power has been eroded by energy depletion, and world control has been virtually given over to the Chinese, only one man has the courage to seek new mineral resources among the stars. He is Ben Belson, one of the richest men in the world, a man haunted by the memory of a loveless childhood and driven by needs and desires he can barely understand or control. His dream is to find the means to help America break the stranglehold of the corrupt interests who are keeping it a second class power.

A collection of Walter Tevis essential short fiction, containing:

Part One: Far From Home
The Other End of the Line
The Big Bounce
The Goldabrick
The Ifth of Oofth
The Scholar's Disciple
Far From Home

Part Two: Close To Home
Rent Control
A Visit From Mother
The Apotheosis of Myra
Out of Luck
Sitting In Limbo

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Steps of the Sun and Far From Home: An Omnibus

  • Engaging and effortlessly readable - Publishers Weekly

  • Warmly involving . . .Tevis' delivery is agreeably fluid and deadpan; and narrator Ben Belson has enough craggy, amiably sardonic appeal to hold the reader's interest. - Kirkus Reviews

  • SF writing of a rare quality. - Time Out

  • The poetic imprints of a fine writer's trail. - The Times

Read More Read Less

Walter Tevis

Walter Tevis was an American novelist and short story writer. Whilst a student at the University of Kentucky, Tevis worked in a pool hall and published a story about the game for an English class. He would later revisit his love for pool in the novels THE HUSTLER (1959) and THE COLOR OF MONEY (1984), both of which would be adapted into multiple award-winning films starring Paul Newman. Among his other works, THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH (1963) and MOCKINGBIRD (1980) are considered masterpieces of science fiction. Tevis died in 1984.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay