Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Fiction in translation

An abandoned yacht, a young family missing - chilling crime from the queen of Nordic Noir.

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD
A Sunday Times '100 best crime novels and thrillers since 1945' pick!

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6

  • An artfully constructed, highly entertaining read, more Golden Age than Nordic Noir . . . until the very last page. - Radio Times

  • The writing is excellent, the investigation scrupulous and the outcome miserable. - Literary Review

  • Nordic Noir at its very best - Irish Independent

  • Yrsa Sigurdardottir is ensconced at or near the summit of Nordic crime writing... [her] most ambitious, deepest novel. - The Times on SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME

  • Grimly compelling... a finely drawn portrait of a nation in shock. - Mail on Sunday on SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME

  • (THE SILENCE OF THE SEA has) a sense of excitement, anticipation and often menace that keep me reading until the end - Crime Warp Blog

Read More Read Less

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Yrsa Sigurdardottir works as a civil engineer in Reykjavik. Her books for children have won prizes and great acclaim. LAST RITUALS is her first adult novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay