Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Hachette Audio
  • Orbit

Snakewood

Adrian Selby

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Fantasy

'A lifetime of enemies has its own price.' This debut epic fantasy from a British writer of incredible talent tells the tale of the Twenty, a band of mercenaries hunted by an unknown killer. Filled with unique voices and incredible worldbuilding, this stunning novel will delight fans of Joe Abercrombie or Mark Lawrence. Now in paperback

'Contemporary and as grimdark as it comes'
British Fantasy Society This debut epic fantasy from a British writer of incredible talent tells the tale of the Twenty, a band of mercenaries hunted by an unknown killer. Filled with unique voices and incredible worldbuilding, this stunning novel will delight fans of Andrzej Sapkowski's The Witcher, Joe Abercrombie or Mark Lawrence.

Once they were a band of mercenaries who shook the pillars of the world through their cunning, their closely guarded alchemical brews and stone cold steel. Whoever met their price won.
Now, their glory days behind them and their genius leader in hiding, the warriors known as the 'Twenty' are being hunted down and eliminated one by one.
A lifetime of enemies has its own price.

'Relish the well-choreographed action scenes in this debut fantasy'

Library Journal 'Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie'
RT Book Reviews

'Absolutely fascinating and incredibly original'

Sense of Wonder

'Wears its grimdark on its sleeve ... a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss'

Interzone

'A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories'

Fantasy Faction

'Demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author'

Booklist

'A fantasy novel that remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars'
B&N Science Fiction and Fantasy blog

'I give it nothing but the highest recommendation'
Grimdark Magazine

Read More Read Less

Praise for Snakewood

  • A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories - Fantasy Faction

  • Set in a brutal world of subtle magic, clashing empires, and commercial interests, this is an impressive fantasy debut. Selby demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author. - Booklist

  • Immensely readable . . . a fantasy novel that remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars - B&N Science Fiction and Fantasy blog

  • Uniquely dark and gritty fantasy. An intriguing debut - Bibliosanctum

Read More Read Less

Adrian Selby

Adrian Selby studied creative writing at university before embarking on a career in video game production. He is a Tolkien fanatic and an online gaming addict, and lives with his wife and family on the south coast of England. His debut novel Snakewood is an epic and inventive fantasy about a company of mercenaries and the assassin trying to destroy them. You can find Adrian on Twitter, tweeting as @adrianlselby.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay