Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Lying Dead: DI Marjory Fleming Book 3

Aline Templeton

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Di Marjory Fleming, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

If you like Inspector Wexford, you'll love DI Marjory Fleming . . . Brilliant classic crime thriller for fans of Ruth Rendell and Peter James

On a beautiful, eerily quiet May morning in a remote corner of Scotland, a girl is found brutally bludgeoned to death, the silence of the scene broken only by the ringing of her mobile telephone.

DI Marjory Fleming thrives on the adrenalin and tension that come with heading a major crime investigation. With the discovery of not one, but two murdered corpses on her patch, she's about to feel the pressure like never before . . .

The community of Drumbreck - a tranquil weekend playground for rich Glaswegians - is small and close-knit. But the veneer of contented prosperity conceals nasty secrets and daily betrayals. DI Fleming must watch her own back as she searches for a link between the two crimes. Uncovering layer upon layer of intrigue and deceit, Fleming is about to learn that while the dead can t tell lies, the living most certainly can . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Lying Dead: DI Marjory Fleming Book 3

  • A fascinating cast of possible villains is explored in this skilfully plotted and well-paced novel, each vividly described, entirely believable and never sliding into the usual parodies of country folk. But its real strength is DI Marjory Fleming, both tough and vulnerable as she struggles to track down the killer . . . This book is a delight, from its leisurely start to the moving and unexpected finish. Even better, it's the second in a series, so there's more pleasure to come. - Guardian on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP

  • Not for Templeton gruesome bodies strewn across the landscape left and right, here the emphasis is on character, motive and situation, building into an impressive whole. I'm sure it won't be long before I have to write "the best-selling Aline Templeton". This is seriously good crime writing. - Sue Baker, 'Personal Choice', Publishing News

  • In fictional terms the combination of domesticity and detection is very appealing, especially when it comes with a detailed, vivid portrayal of a complete society . . . an interesting, atmospheric and - I predict - televisual series. - Literary Review

  • An unalloyed pleasure - an intelligent, character-driven crime novel. - Andrew Taylor on COLD IN THE EARTH

  • [Aline Templeton] has demonstrated that, just when we thought Scotland was saturated with detectives, a strong woman can elbow her way in and find a unique niche. - Scotsman on COLD IN THE EARTH

  • It is always a pleasure to read Aline Templeton, but THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP must surely be her best book to date. Aline's characters are so beautifully drawn . . . - J Wallis Martin

  • A compelling read. - Margaret Yorke on COLD IN THE EARTH

  • Loved it - Val McDermid on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP

Read More Read Less

Aline Templeton

Aline Templeton has worked in education and broadcasting. She grew up in Scotland, read English at Girton College, Cambridge, and now lives in Edinburgh. She has a grown-up son and daughter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay