Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Dialogue Books

Cold Sun: An utterly gripping crime thriller packed with suspense

Anita Sivakumaran

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery


'Wow just incredible... The killer's identity just took my breath away... Breathtaking suspense and mystery that will blow you away... Outstanding. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐' Surjit's Book Blog ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

In the golden afternoon light, the young woman lies perfectly still, her dark hair fanning out behind her. She is dressed in a rose red sari, shot through with gold. Just like the others.

The last time Detective Vijay Patel visited India, he vowed never to return. After a devastating accident, the country holds only bitter memories and broken dreams. But when three young women are murdered in mysterious circumstances, Patel is pulled back to his past.

Leaving his fiancee Sarah behind in London, Patel rushes to a beautiful apartment on a tree-lined street in the bustling city of Bangalore where the body of Sarita Mohan, a successful businesswoman, has been found. Floating on a sea of black satin, she is dressed in red silk, a tiny silver ring on the fourth toe of her right foot.

Desperate to find a link between the murders, Patel digs into the other cases and spots the missing link. The toe ring is a symbol of marriage and the distinctive red saris are traditionally worn for weddings. What is the killer trying to tell them? Why leave each body posed like a bride?

Then Sarah is kidnapped, and Patel is frantic to find the woman he loves before she becomes the next victim. As he desperately re-reads the killer's last cryptic message, Patel finds the critical clue he's been searching for, and hopefully a chance to save Sarah.

Determined to rescue the woman he loves, can Patel outwit the deadliest killer he has ever faced? Or is he already too late?

Utterly unputdownable, this breathless thriller will keep you guessing until the final, shocking twist. Fans of Ian Rankin, Abir Mukherjee and Val McDermid will be totally gripped!

What readers are saying about Cold Sun:

'Absolutely gripping... So intense... The twists I encountered along the way were so unexpected... I could not stop to put this down at any point... Gave me tingles... I was so nervous about how this book was going to play out.' Twilight Reader ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Completely pulled in... I have devoured this book in one sitting.' Little Miss Book Lover 87

'Twisty... I didn't guess the denouement at all, even as the book was racing towards
Read More Read Less

Praise for Cold Sun: An utterly gripping crime thriller packed with suspense

  • Brutal and lyrical by turns, Cold Sun is the first in a promising series - The Sunday Times

  • A really insightful and interesting read. Cold Sun is an exciting start to what should be a super-gripping new thriller series from Sivakumaran - Cosmopolitan

  • Cold Sun is a stylish and exuberant, fish-out-of-water, crime thriller, in which former cricketer turned Scotland Yard detective, Vijay Patel, is sent to India to help with a murder investigation only to quickly find himself out of his depth when more victims are discovered. Patel isn't quite Indian enough to fit in and his British ideas about policing aren't entirely welcomed in this wonderfully observed, whip-smart, India-set thriller.

  • Fascinating, often irreverently funny, stuff and Patel is a worthy enough hero - Shots Mag

  • A stylish and entertaining thriller offering a vivid and authentic insight into an unfamiliar but fascinating culture - Irish Times

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay