Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

The Here and Now

Ann Brashares

8 Reviews

Rated 0

USA, For National Curriculum Key Stage 3, Interest age: from c 11 years, Fiction, Thrillers (Children's / Teenage), Science fiction (Children's / Teenage), Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teen

Thrilling, exhilarating, haunting and heartbreaking, The Here and Now is a twenty-first-century take on an impossible romance, from the author of the phenomenally successful The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series.

Seventeen-year-old Prenna James emigrated to New York when she was twelve. But Prenna didn't come from a different country, she came from a different time - a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they're from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she's told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth and take the lives of her younger brothers. But everything changes when she falls for Ethan.

She might be able to save the world ... if she lets go of the one thing she's found to hold on to.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Here and Now

  • While primarily an appealing romantic thriller, "The Here and Now" also serves as a potent reminder that we inherit the future we buy with our actions today. - Cassandra Clare

  • A gripping page-turner about a girl who's willing to risk it all for love and the fate of the world. - Teen Vogue

  • This gripping story is set in a world unlike any other and inhabited by beautifully imagined characters that stay with you long after the last page. As always, Brashares expertly captures the wonder of love's enduring power. - Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars

  • Brashares forays into science fiction in this fast-paced, gripping, and romantic novel about a girl from a future that seems eerily possible ... - Publishers Weekly

  • Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent. - RT Book Reviews

  • There is something of a good Channel 4 series in this engaging, froth-free plot . . . Good, hearty, heart-warming fare. - Guardian

  • An outstanding and vivid book that will stay with readers for a long time to come. - Publishers Weekly

  • Instant teen appeal. - Sunday Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Ann Brashares

Jamelia was born in Birmingham in 1981 and was signed up by Parlophone at just fifteen. She released her first album at nineteen, and has gone on to record two more albums, establishing herself as one of the UK's leading soul singers. She has two young children and has recently launched a cosmetics range, Model.Me.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay