Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Lothian Children's Books
  • Lothian Children's Books

All That Impossible Space

Anna Morgan

6 Reviews

Rated 0

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

A CBCA NOTABLE BOOK 2020

AMELIA WESTLAKE meets MY FAVOURITE MURDER in this debut from a terrific new voice in Australian YA. Combines a realistic story about high school drama and toxic friendship with true crime - the endlessly fascinating Somerton Man or Tamam Shud mystery.

15-year-old Lara Laylor feels like supporting character in her own life. She's Ashley's best friend, she's Hannah's sister-she's never just Lara.

When new history teacher Mr. Grant gives her an unusual assignment: investigating the mystery of the Somerton Man. Found dead in on an Adelaide beach in 1948, a half-smoked cigarette still in his mouth and the labels cut out of his clothes, the Somerton Man has intrigued people for years. Was he a spy? A criminal? Year 10 has plenty of mysteries of its own: boys, drama queen friends, and enigmatic new students. When they seem just as unsolvable as a 60-year-old cold case, Lara finds herself spending more and more time on the assignment. But Mr Grant himself may be the biggest mystery of all...

Interspersed with fictionalised snapshots of the Somerton Man investigation, ALL THAT IMPOSSIBLE SPACE is a coming of age novel exploring toxic friendships and the balance of power between teacher and student, perfect for fans of Cath Crowley and Fiona Wood.

Read More Read Less

Praise for All That Impossible Space

  • All That Impossible Space is an excellent debut from a bright new voice in Australian young adult fiction that will appeal to fans of Ellie Marney and Fleur Ferris. - Books+Publishing

  • An enthralling debut from a strong new voice on the OzYA scene. - Fiona Wood

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (4)

  • An intelligent, poetic, thoughtful and sympathetic account of the many trials of modern teenagehood. The historical mystery is deftly interwoven with Lara's personal narrative, providing echo and counterpoint by turn that illuminate her discoveries about who she is and how she can light up her own path. As well as spinning a great yarn, Anna has a keen eye and talent for beautifully apt metaphors, and she turns a beautiful sentence. I really liked this book (despite not being at all its target audience!) and would recommend it to a wide arange of readers. I look forward to Anna's next release in August 2020.

    John Byron

    Rated 5
  • This might possibly be the best book I’ve ever read. This book is great for a young teen like me. I loved it so so much and I’d love a second one with the same characters!!!

    aloysia freeman

    Rated 5
  • An absolutely gripping read - calling this book a page turner would be an understatement!

    Georgia Lack

    Rated 5
  • Incredible book that kept me guessing the whole way, loved reliving the highs and lows of high school with Lara!

    Lillie Lack

    Rated 5
Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Five minutes with … Anna Morgan

Right
Left
loading...

Five minutes with … Anna Morgan

Right

Anna Morgan

Anna was born in Sydney, but spent most of her childhood surrounded by mountains in Nepal and Tibet while her parents were part of an international community of health professionals. Navigating this cross-cultural life made her a curious observer of people, although most of her time was spent reading Enid Blyton and dreaming of going to boarding school. This did not cushion the shock of shifting from home-school in Tibet to an all-girls high school in Melbourne when her family returned to Australia. ALL THAT IMPOSSIBLE SPACE explores some of the intense and convoluted friendships that thrive in this setting. Anna completed a MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University in 2015, and now lives in Melbourne with her husband. She works as a bookseller.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay