Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

A Marriage of Fortune: The captivating new historical novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author

Anne O'Brien

Write Review

Rated 0

United Kingdom, Great Britain, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), War & combat fiction, Historical romance, Historical fiction

The captivating new historical novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Anne O'Brien, perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir.

'A compelling tale of a family caught up in the turmoil of the Wars of the Roses... Be warned: it's dangerously addictive' TRACY BORMAN

England. 1469.

A fortunate marriage will change history.
A scandal could destroy everything...

Margaret Paston, matriarch of the Paston family, knows that a favourable match for one of her unruly daughters is the only way to survive the loss of their recently acquired Caister Castle. But as the War of the Roses rages on, dangerous enemies will threaten even her best laid plans.

Margery Paston, her eldest daughter, has always strived to uphold the Paston name and do her mother proud. But when she loses her heart to a man below her station, she must make a terrible choice: will she betray her family and risk everything for a chance at true love?

Anne Haute, first cousin to the Queen, is embroiled in a longstanding betrothal to Sir John Paston, the eldest son and heir to the Paston seat. But despite his promises, Anne can't help but doubt that he will ever keep his word and make her his wife...

In the midst of civil war, each of these women must decide: Head or heart? Love or duty? Reputation- or scandal?

Praise for A Marriage of Fortune:

'Anne O'Brien gets right inside the heads of her medieval characters!' JOANNA HICKSON

'Magnificently researched... an enthralling story of strong women and advantageous marriages. I was completely hooked!' CLARE MARCHANT

A beautifully researched novel told with understanding, subtlety and a deft touch. Time travel at its best' JOANNA COURTNEY

Read More Read Less

Anne O'Brien

Sunday Times Bestselling author Anne O'Brien was born in West Yorkshire. After gaining a BA Honours degree in History at Manchester University and a Master's in Education at Hull, she lived in East Yorkshire for many years as a teacher of history.

Today she has sold over 700,000 copies of her books in the UK and internationally. She lives with her husband in an eighteenth-century timber-framed cottage in the depths of the Welsh Marches in Herefordshire. The area provides endless inspiration for her novels about the forgotten women of history.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay