Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Ashley Herring Blake

Write Review

Rated 0

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

For fans of Ali Benjamin and Kat Yeh, twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a New Life Plan: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time. Her New Life Plan seems to be racing forward, but when she meets her new best friend Quinn, Sunny questions whether she really wants to kiss a boy at all. With the reemergence of her mother, Sunny begins a journey to becoming the new Sunny St. James.

As with IVY ABERDEEN'S LETTER TO THE WORLD, the sophomore middle grade novel by Ashley Herring Blake adds to the slowly growing, but still small list of queer MG titles. THE MIGHTY HEART OF SUNNY ST. JAMES is a gorgeous follow-up to IVY ABDERDEEN as a novel about grief, loss, discovery, friendship, and the power in being oneself, no matter what.

This sweet, tender novel has a strong voice in the vein of THE THING ABOUT JELLYFISH, strong potential for the School & Library market, and is an award contender.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay