Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Little, Brown Young Readers US

On the Day the Horse Got Out

Audrey H Weber

Write Review

Rated 0

Animal stories (Children's / Teenage)

A standout picture book debut about curiosity, cause-and-effect, and connectedness, which blends the delightful child-appealing nonsense of nursery rhyme with distinctive art -- perfect for fans of Brendan Wenzel or Carson Ellis.

In this gorgeously rendered debut, Audrey Helen Weber masterfully blends suspense and nonsense, imaginative artwork, and a flawless rhythm that evokes some of the most beloved read-aloud classics, from Mother Goose to Eric Carle.

On the day the horse got out...
the bells all rang,
the birds flew south,
the rabbit dug a bit too deep,
and the beetle cried out in its sleep...

But what happened to the horse? Did she find what she was looking for? Drawing on the influence of nursery rhymes, fables, folklore, folk art, and mythology-and combined with Audrey's own playful and surreal sensibility, page-turning suspense and read-aloud magic-here is a transcendent journey that tells a new story with every read.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay