Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Silence of Strangers

Audrey Howard

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance, Sagas, Historical fiction

Set in the 1840s in the Lancashire coalfields, this is the story of two women who love the same man. Heiress Nella Fielden sets her heart on Jonas Townley and marries him, but his heart belongs to Nella's protegee Leah, a lowly miner's daughter. Tragedy follows when Nella learns she has a rival.

Nella Fielden marries Jonas Townley believing he is the one man who deserves her hand and her fortune. The Lancashire colliery heiress, as proud and ambitious as any man, cannot believe the truth: that Jonas has married her for her money.

He tries to be true to her. But soon, his heart belongs to another woman: Nella's protege Leah Wood, the girl from Colliers Row.

Torn between her loyalty to her protector and her love for Jonas Townley, Leah tries to be true to both. But she cannot cure Nella's broken heart - or avoid the tragedy that lies in wait for them all.

Read More Read Less

Audrey Howard

Audrey Howard was born in Liverpool in 1929. Before she began to write she had a variety of jobs, among them hairdresser, model, shop assistant, cleaner and civil servant. In 1981, while living in Australia, she wrote the first of her bestselling novels. Here fourth novel, The Juniper Bush, won the Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 1988.She lives in St Anne's on Sea, her childhood home.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay