Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

A Closed and Common Orbit: Wayfarers 2

Becky Chambers

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Wayfarers, Fiction, Adventure, Science fiction

The extraordinary new novel by Becky Chambers, author of the beloved debut novel THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET: 'a quietly profound, humane tour de force.' (Guardian)

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has to start over in a synthetic body, in a world where her kind are illegal. She's never felt so alone.

But she's not alone, not really. Pepper, one of the engineers who risked life and limb to reinstall Lovelace, is determined to help her adjust to her new world. Because Pepper knows a thing or two about starting over.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that, huge as the galaxy may be, it's anything but empty.

THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET introduced readers to the incredible imagination of Becky Chambers and has been nominated for any number of awards and accolades, including the Baileys Prize for Women's Fiction, the Tiptree Award, the Kitschies Golden Tentacle and the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

A CLOSED AND COMMON ORBIT is the stand-alone sequel to THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET and is perfect for fans of FIREFLY, Joss Whedon, MASS EFFECT and STAR WARS.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Closed and Common Orbit: Wayfarers 2

  • A joyous, optimistic space opera... Although it isn't shy about tackling Big Questions, PLANET is a heart-warming debut novel that will restore your faith in science fiction (specifically) and humanity (in general). - Tor.com on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET

  • One of the most enjoyable, brilliantly realised spacey SF novels I've read in ages. - James Smythe on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET

  • A quietly profound, humane tour de force' - Guardian on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET

  • Joyously written and a joy to read. - Claire North on THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL ANGRY PLANET

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Ready Player Read

loading...

4 series to read instead of watching Star Trek: Discovery (because it’s pushed back to who knows when):

Right
Left
loading...

Ready Player Read

loading...

4 series to read instead of watching Star Trek: Discovery (because it’s pushed back to who knows when):

Right

Becky Chambers

Becky Chambers is the author of the Wayfarers books, which currently include The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, A Closed and Common Orbit, and Record of a Spaceborn Few. Her books have been nominated for the Hugo Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and the Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction, among others, and won the Prix Julia Verlanger in 2017. She grew up in a family heavily involved in space science, and hopes to see Earth from orbit one day.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay