Your cart


Total AUD



  • Gateway


Brian Ball

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Science fiction

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

What happened to the colossal dimensional engine of the Forever Planet? What happened to the mysterious Pivot of Time?

TIMEPIECE told of the eerie extra-Universals who manufactured that vast and strange engine: TIMEPIT moves on to a day when the Pivot of Time has been locked away, to keep its terrifying powers from the curious an the bold. For centuries its safety is a precious fetish it is stored away, to be visited as it it were some magic touchstone.

And then a wasp stung Kelp on the nose! Kelp, curious, bold, resourceful, had been prisoner in the warm ooze of the coma-cells since the time of his arrest. His crime? He tried to investigate the secrets of the Pivot of Time. A wasp-sting brought him from a ten-year sleep into a sharp awareness of a mission unaccomplished. He leapt into action! Kelp's insatiable curiosity and boundless resources enabled him to smash the fearful guardians of the Timepivot but the consequences of Kelp's tampering with the Timepivot were indeed vast and terrible.

Read More Read Less

Brian Ball

Brian Ball (1932 - )
Brian Neville Ball was born on June 19, 1932, in Cheshire, England. Much of his substantial body of novels - sci ence fiction, supernatural, detective thrillers and children's fic tion, beginning in the early 1960s and continuing to date - was produced whilst Ball simultaneously pursued an academic career as a Lecturer in English at Doncaster College of Education, and whilst he was Visiting Professor to the University of British Co lombia, Vancouver.
Like many of his British contemporaries, Ball began by writ ing science fiction short stories for New Worlds and Science Fan tasy, but very quickly made the transition to full-length SF novels, beginning with Sundog in 1965. His early SF novels, whilst action-packed adventure stories, were also rich in metaphysical specula tion, qualities that quickly brought him international recognition, His series of children's books, ranging from nursery to teenage titles, were equally successful.
Of his adult science fiction novels, of special note was his trilogy about an ancient Galactic Federation, Timepiece (1968), Timepivot (1970), and Planet Probability (1973). By 1971 he had begun to diversify into supernatural novels with considerable suc cess, and in 1974 his first detective novel, Death of Low Handicap Man, was published to wide acclaim. It was followed by several crime thrillers.
In 2004 Ball resumed writing fantasy short stories, and was commissioned to write a new Space 1999 novel, Survival (2005), explaining the mysterious disappearance of Professor Victor Bergman from the last series of the Gerry Anderson TV series (for which Ball had earlier authored The Space Guardians in 1975).
In recent years, all of Ball's detective and supernatural novels have been reprinted, along with new novels in both genres, with Gollancz's SF Gateway featuring his earlier science fiction novels.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay