Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Accent
  • Headline Accent

The Silken Rose: The spellbinding and completely gripping new story of England's forgotten queen . . .

Carol McGrath

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Biography, Historical fiction

The first in a brand new trilogy from Carol McGrath, author of The Daughters of Hastings series. The Silken Rose is the gripping tale of one of history's most fierce heroines.

They called her the She-Wolf From Provence. She'd shape the destiny of England ...

Fans of Alison Weir, Anne O'Brien and Philippa Gregory, will devour this compelling new novel, starring one of English history's most fierce and courageous forgotten heroines!

'Powerful, gripping and beautifully told' - Kate Furnivall, author of The Liberation

'A feast for the senses and highly recommended' - Deborah Swift, author of Pleasing Mr Pepys

'Well-researched . . . Fascinating' - Joanna Courtney

READERS LOVE THE SILKEN ROSE!

***** 'Stunning start to a new series of She-Wolf Queens'

***** 'Spectacular . . . I will recommend this first part of her new trilogy to everyone'

***** 'Fabulous . . . A lovely, highly researched tale'

***** 'Exceptionally well-written . . . From the first page I was totally caught up in the story'

1236. Ailenor of Provence, cultured and intelligent, is only thirteen when she meets her new husband, Henry III of England. A foreign and friendless princess in a strange land she is determined to please him. And she knows that when the times comes she must provide an heir, to secure the throne against those who would snatch it away.

Rosalind, a commoner skilled in the arts of needlework and embroidery, catches the young queen's attention and a friendship blossoms. But she is unprepared for the dangerous ramifications of winning the queen's favour ...

As closeness, and soon love, develops between Ailenor and Henry, so too does her influence on her husband and her power at court. As France and Wales provide constant threat, and England's barons increasingly resent her influence, Ailenor must learn to be ruthless. Who should she encourage her husband to favour? Who can she trust?

Caught in a web of treachery and deceit, her choices will define the fate of England. To protect her close friends, and her beloved children, Ailenor, the She-Wolf from Provence, would do, and endure, anything ...

AND DISCOVER THE DAMASK ROSE: THE SUMPTUOUS AND GRIPPING NEW NOVEL FROM CAROL MCGRATH

COMING APRIL 2021: AVAILABLE FOR PREORDER NOW!

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Silken Rose: The spellbinding and completely gripping new story of England's forgotten queen . . .

  • Powerful, gripping and beautifully told. A historical novel that will resonate with the #MeToo generation

  • The scents, colours and intrigues of a medieval court provide a fitting background to this gripping tale of a much maligned queen

  • The Silken Rose dives into 13th Century England with the relish of a peregrine's stoop. With the tastiest morsels of quail and the tiniest golden embroidery stitch, the novel steeps the reader in the life of a medieval court

  • A very well-researched tale of a fascinating period

  • A love of medieval history shines through on every page. A feast for the senses and highly recommended to lovers of well-written historical biography

Read More Read Less

Carol McGrath

Carol McGrath is the author of the acclaimed She-Wolves Trilogy, which began with the hugely successful The Silken Rose and continues with the brand new The Damask Rose. Born in Northern Ireland, she fell in love with historical fiction at a young age, when exploring local castles, such as Carrickfergus, and nearby archaeological digs - and discovering some ancient bones herself. While completing a degree in history, she became fascinated by the strong women who were silenced in record, and was inspired to start exploring their lives. Her first novel, The Handfasted Wife, was shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association Awards, and Mistress Cromwell was widely praised as a timely feminist retelling of Tudor court life. Her novels are known for their intricacy, depth of research and powerful stories.

For more news, exclusive content and competitions, sign up to Carol's newsletter at: www.carolcmcgrath.co.uk

Follow her on Facebook: /CarolMcGrathAuthor1
And Twitter: @CarolMcGrath

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay