Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Virago
  • Virago
  • Virago

Promising Young Women

Caroline O'Donoghue

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

For readers of THE COWS, SWEETBITTER or CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS - as well as for fans of FLEABAG or SEARCH PARTY - Caroline O'Donoghue's debut is a gothic, darkly witty novel about sex, power, work and being a young woman in a man's world.

'I loved it. The writing is whipsmart and so witty. A fabulous and timely novel.' Marian Keyes

'So brilliant ... Compelling and illuminating ... I highly recommend it.' Dolly Alderton

'A future classic.' Jane Casey

Jane Peters is an adrift twenty-something by day, and a world-weary agony aunt by night. But when an office party goes too far, Jane dissolves into the high-stakes world of being the Other Woman: a role she has the right advice for, but not the smarts to follow through on.

What starts out as a drunken mistake quickly unravels as Jane discovers that sex and power go hand-in-hand, and that it's hard to keep your head when you've become someone else's dirty little secret. And soon, her friendships, her sanity and even her life are put into jeopardy...

'Sharp, pithy and engaging' Irish Times

'Brilliant' Elle

'Deeply relatable and darkly comic ... It'll have you nodding with familiarity, thinking, laughing - and crying - as you race towards the end' Grazia

'I loved Promising Young Women. It's like Bluebeard crossed with The Yellow Wallpaper neck-deep in zeitgeist. If Angela Carter was stuck in a soulless corporate job this would be the dark, delicious result' Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti

Read More Read Less