Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Children's Books

City of Shadows

Celia Rees

Write Review

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 3, Interest age: from c 9 years, Interest age: from c 10 years, Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Twelve-year-old Davey discovers the exceptional power of his sixth sense when he explores the ancient underground city in his hometown. Here he confronts both good and bad spirits and one evil shapeshifter who follows him back to his own time to bring him to his death . . .

In the midsummer of his twelfth birthday, Davey, his twin cousins and his sister Kate, embark on a tour of the infamous underground city in Davey's hometown. As the tour progresses, Davey finds himself separated from the others, and inside an eerie chamber. Here he is drawn to a large and hazy-glassed mirror. In a moment, Davey's reflection blurs, and he finds himself back on the streets of the ancient city - but the residents are not of his time - they are ghosts, and some do not take kindly to those from 'the other side'. Davey encounters some friendly spirits, too - but they urge him to try to make it back to his own time, before an evil ghost crew discovers he is mortal. A frantic search for his own world begins, and Davey makes it just in time. But he senses there is unfinished business and, come Hallowe'en, the ghosts will be on the lookout for him - and this time they will be visiting his world . . .

Read More Read Less

Celia Rees

Before becoming a full-time writer, Celia Rees was a secondary school teacher for over ten years. The spur to becoming a writer was undertaking a Masters Degree at Birmingham University. One of the teachers asked the students to write something - just as the teachers would ask the students. Celia's tutor liked what she wrote and it was then she knew what she wanted to do - write for teenagers 'books that they would want to read, almost adult in style and content, but with people like them at the centre.' Her first book, Every Step You Take, was published in 1993 and she has written more than 15 other books, including Pirates!, Witch Child and Sorceress, all of them highly acclaimed and her latest novel, This is Not Forgiveness.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay