Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Hachette Audio
  • Orbit

The Oversight: A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

Charlie Fletcher

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Oversight Trilogy, Fiction, Adventure, Historical adventure, Horror & ghost stories, Fantasy

This gothic fantasy is perfect for readers who enjoyed Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, A Discovery of Witches and The Night Circus and also to fans of Neil Gaiman's magical fiction.


'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing' -M. R. Carey, author of The Girl With All the Gifts

WHEN THEY FALL, SO DO WE ALL

Once the Oversight, the secret society that polices the lines between the mundane and the magic, counted hundreds of brave souls among its members. Now their number can be tallied on a single hand.
When a drunkard brings a screaming girl to the Oversight's London headquarters, it seems their hopes for a new recruit will be fulfilled - but the girl is a trap, her appearance a puzzle the five remaining guardians must solve or lose each other, and their society, for good.
As the borders between the natural and the supernatural begin to break down, brutal murders erupt across the city, the Oversight are torn viciously apart and their enemies close in for the final blow.

This dark Dickensian fantasy spins a tale of witch-hunters, magicians, mirror-walkers and the unlikeliest of heroes drawn from the depths of British folklore. Meet the Oversight, and remember: when they fall, so do we all. The Oversight Trilogy begins with The Oversight, continues in The Paradox and concludes in The Remnant.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Oversight: A mystery of witch-hunters, magicians and mirror-walkers

  • Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in about equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised. This feels like the start of something amazing

  • The Oversight is - and let's be clear here - something very special . . . It's oh so moreish a morsel. I'd read a prequel this evening, a sequel as soon as. - Tor.com

  • Told in a kind of compelling and hypnotic poesie that I just lapped up . . . I'll certainly be reading the next one - BoingBoing.net

  • A remarkable combination of British folklore, brisk pacing and wide-ranging imagination - Kirkus Reviews

  • Richly atmospheric (the evil lurks in the background of every paragraph), the book should be a big hit with supernatural-fantasy readers ... the second book can't come soon enough - Booklist (starred review)

  • Fletcher's Victorian London is juicily vivid, and laced with macabre wit. There's a real sense of grim danger, both natural and unnatural, hungrily awaiting the slightest mis-step

  • A richly atmospheric and intensely readable slice of Victoriana, with a splendidly eerie sense of the way the unearthly lies cheek-by-jowl with the mundane

  • Utterly enthralling: Charles Dickens meets Susanna Clarke

Read More Read Less

Charlie Fletcher

Charlie Fletcher is a screenwriter and children's author living in Edinburgh. His Stoneheart trilogy has been translated into a dozen languages and the film rights have been sold to Paramount. The first volume, Stoneheart, was shortlisted for the Branford Boase award and longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. His stand-alone novel for children, Far Rockaway, was published last year to great critical acclaim and has been longlisted for the Carnegie prize. He can be found on Twitter at @CharlieFletch_r.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay